Dirt Late Models

Race Goes To Landis, Crown To Tom Smith

PLYMOUTH, Ind. — Jack Landis captured the Randercar Racing Enterprises 75 SuperPro Late Model Series event at Plymouth Speedway Sunday afternoon as part of the track’s multi-day Stock Car Festival.

Starting fourth in the 25-car field, Landis chased race leader Kyle Hayden most of the way, using an outside groove move to get around Hayden on lap 53 after a caution flag.

Landis and his Ford Fusion were in control the rest of the way as he took the checkered flag with a comfortable margin over Hayden, Jason Dietsch, Matt Hall and fast qualifier Brett Sontag.

“I couldn’t get by him (Hayden) on the bottom,” Landis said. “The yellows helped me out because Kyle could only guess where I was going to go. Once I took away the outside lane, it hurt him. The outside groove was the spot for me to be.”

Tom Smith finished seventh and garnered enough points to be crowned the 2009 SuperPro Late Model Series champion. Smith is also the promoter of Plymouth Speedway.

The finish:
Jack Landis, Kyle Hayden, Jason Dietsch, Matt Hall, Brett Sontag, Mike Kugler, Tom Smith, John Nutley, Marc Hankosky, Kevin Todd, Tommy Cook, Al Cook, Jr., Doug Hayes, Phil Bozell, Steven Brooks, Derrick Griffin, Jim Weber, Greg Nienhouse, Ryan Inman, Tyler Middleton, Andy Marchiniak, Hank Tews, Jeremy Curns, Rick Everidge, Paul Freeland.

Posted by on Sep 29 2009 Filed under Dirt Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Related Articles

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!