Brabham Clinches Pro Mazda Crown

Andretti Autosport also put a lock on the team championship ahead of the season-finale in Houston – their first championship in Pro Mazda and the former Star Mazda series.

Brabham made another perfect launch from the standing start for today’s 40-lap event and remained unchallenged to take the checkered flag 5.5 seconds ahead of Juncos Racing’s Diego Ferreira. Ferreira posted another flawless drive to second – his 11th podium of the season. JDC MotorSports’ Juan Piedrahita lost a position to Team Pelfrey’s Spencer Pigot at the start, but regained third place on Lap 26 to earn his second podium of the weekend and fourth of the season.

Pigot had his hands full after falling to fourth from a hard charging Scott Anderson of Juncos Racing, who managed to displace Pigot to fifth position on the final lap.

The only caution of the race came on lap one with a four-car incident in Turn Six that eliminated Shelby Blackstock of Andretti Autosport, Stefan Rzadzinski of Team Pelfrey and Kyle Kaiser of World Speed Motorsports. Lloyd Read was also involved but was able to continue after repairs by the JDC MotorSports crew.

In the Expert Class, Bobby Eberle of World Speed Motorsports claimed his second win of the weekend after a lively battle with Jay Horak of M1 Racing, who secured the class title this weekend.

Posted by on Aug 11 2013 Filed under IndyCar, Latest Headlines, Mazda Road to Indy, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!