Verizon IndyCar Series

Andretti Teams Showing Championship Form

James Hinchcliffe scored his third victory of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season Sunday at Iowa Speedway. (Al Steinberg Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS – The competitiveness of the IZOD IndyCar Series is reflected in seven teams represented in the top 10 of the championship standings and seven different drivers having won the 10 races.

Andretti Autosport happens to have won half of the events as the season rolled to the second half with the Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKALB on June 23.

Third-year driver James Hinchcliffe, who had never won on an oval, added that accomplishment to the two street course victories from earlier this year. He led teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay, who’s recorded the other two wins, to the finish line by 1.509 seconds through 250 fast and furious laps on the .875-mile track.

It was the second consecutive year for an Andretti Autosport 1-2 finish, and the fourth successive year an Andretti Autosport driver has hoisted the gas pump trophy in Victory Circle. Overall, the team has won five of the seven races in the heart of Iowa.

The magic, team owner Michael Andretti reveals, is in the details. Debriefings, engineering meetings, driver input and openly sharing data between the four – all the things conducted after the spectators leave the grandstands.

Posted by on Jun 25 2013 Filed under IndyCar, Latest Headlines, Top Stories, Verizon IndyCar Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Related Articles

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!