Latest Headlines

ASA, JGR Continue National Title Program

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — For the fourth-straight year ASA Racing will partner with Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil and Joe Gibbs Racing to present the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.

“We are extremely excited about announcing the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship for 2011,” said Dennis Huth, ASA president. “This unique opportunity provides our ASA competitors, who compete at our ASA Member Tracks, an extraordinary opportunity to tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing. We appreciate everything that Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil and Joe Gibbs Racing does to showcase our ASA Member Track National Champion with a one of a kind prize.”

Last year, Bryan Wordelman won the modified track championship at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, Utah. His season record was up against other ASA Member Track champions and, by a margin of 0.0028, he won the National Championship over Dustin Rumley, the track champion from Ace Speedway in Altamahaw, N.C.

“Everybody at Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil and Joe Gibbs Racing cannot wait to provide this unique prize to the 2011 National Champion,” said Lake Speed, Jr., general manager of Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil. “We have welcomed three ASA Member Track National Champions already, and look forward to hosting the fourth one later this year.”

Wordelman, along with his wife Amy and father Don, flew to Charlotte, N.C., last October, where he had a tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing.

“It was an awesome experience. I still cannot believe it. I cannot put it into words,” Wordelman said at the end of his tryout. “We knew about the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship, but only one guy wins it each year. I never dreamed that I would be that one person.”

Along with the tryout, Wordelman had a 45-minute meeting with J.D. Gibbs, president of Joe Gibbs Racing. He also got the opportunity to meet team owner Joe Gibbs.

“I had the great pleasure to meet Bryan and his family last October,” J.D. Gibbs said. “Our partnership with ASA in this program is giving us at Joe Gibbs Racing a great opportunity to meet the some of the best short track racers. We are very proud to do this for the fourth year in a row, and I personally cannot wait to meet the 2011 National Champion later this year. We wish the best of luck to everyone this season.”

The National Championship will be available to drivers who participate in the premier division at ASA Member Tracks across the United States.

Past National Champions are Cary Stapp (2008) from Thunderhill Raceway in Kyle, Texas, Tommy Cloce (2009) from Adirondack Int’l Speedway in New Bremen, N.Y., and Wordelman (2010) from Rocky Mountain Raceways.

Posted by on Feb 10 2011 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!