Latest Headlines

Chili Bowl Entry List Grows

Jerry Coons, Jr. (5) battles Cory Kruseman during the 2010 Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. (Ken Simon photo).

TULSA, Okla. — With another epic edition of the Tulsa Shootout logged into the record books this past weekend, the rumbling sound of midgets will fill the Tulsa Fairgrounds QuikTrip Center in another short week.

Next Monday’s practice session will set the stage for the Silver Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, which takes place atop the quarter-mile Tulsa Expo Raceway clay oval Jan. 11-15.

The entry count for the world’s premier indoor racing extravaganza has climbed to 264, with competitors representing 29 different states as well as New Zealand and Australia.

Among the latest additions to the entry list of New Zealand’s Brad Mosen, who takes the wheel of three-time Chili Bowl champion car owner Andy Bondio’s No. 47 entry. Mosen, the only 2010 Chili Bowl rookie contender to make the cut for the championship feature event, is one of two Kiwi competitors along with team Loyet member Michael Pickens.

With the addition of Mosen, 23 of the 25 drivers that battled it out in last year’s 50-lap championship finale are set for this year’s edition. The only two missing from 2010 are Kasey Kahne and Darren Hagen.

Recovering from recent knee surgery, Kahne will be on hand to watch the progress of KKR competitors Jason Leffler and Brad Sweet.

Hagen, who won last year’s Thursday night qualifying feature, is recovering from injuries suffered in a late season crash. Sprint car grad and NASCAR Nationwide Series Rookie of the Year Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., takes the wheel of the RFMS No. 3 that Hagen piloted last year.

Also added to the entry list today is California native Randy Hannagan, who will take the seat of the Wilke-Pak Motorsports No. 5 entry. Other Wilke-Pak reps include Dave Darland, whose Chili Bowl record run of 10 consecutive championship feature starts in a row ended last year, and Turkey Night sprint-car winner Kody Swanson. The Wilke-Pak team has one of the remaining 19 TBAs.

Another familiar name, “Knepper”, has been added to the entry list as well. A fixture at the Chili Bowl since its inception, the Knepper name will be among the Chili Bowl field for the 25th consecutive year. After Steve took in his 20th Chili Bowl last year, Nick Knepper’s sixth Bowl effort comes in tandem with rookie teammate Dereck King.

Posted by on Jan 4 2011 Filed under Chili Bowl History, Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!