Latest Headlines

It’s All Wayne Johnson At Devil’s Bowl

Wayne Johnson won Friday's Lucas ASCS sprint car feature at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)

MESQUITE, Texas — After drawing the lowest pill for his heat race, Wayne Johnson looked like a man possessed; redrawing into the second row and proceeding to wire the night’s 25- lap Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

“This is one of my favorite race tracks we ever get to come to and sure seems like we get rolling pretty good too every time we come down here,” said Johnson. “I seen on the restart I had Lasoski and Herrera behind me. I knew it wasn’t going to be a cakewalk and just didn’t want them to get a run and be able to slide me there in turn one. I think there were afraid to really try it because there wasn’t much to hold you on the top over there.”

Positioning the Oil Medics No. 77x on the bottom grove, a quick move to the inside line on the start of the night’s feature event would see Johnson leading the opening lap.

Utilizing a single file restart after a caution for debris on the track with twenty-four laps remaining, Johnson would find himself in heavy lapped traffic in a matter of no time with the Casey’s General Store No. 21 of Brian Brown in hot pursuit until a failed quick change gear sidelined the Grain Valley, Mo., driver on lap 12.

Rolling back to green with thirteen remaining, Johnson led the MVT/Champion Brands No. 45x of Herrera and the Burch Motorsports/Wolf Weld Chassis No. 1m of Danny Lasoski with a pair of slower cars in the mix. Allowing Johnson to pull to a sizable advantage, the battle for the runnerup spot would see Lasoski move into second before the red flag waved on lap eighteen for the No. 45 of Martin Edwards.

Taking the green for a pair of laps, the caution would fly for the final time as the T&L Foundry No. 11c of Matt Covington came to a stop

after contact on the front straight.

Taking the green for the final five laps the Oil Medics No. 77x of Johnson would run away to a comfortable victory with Lasoski holding onto second. Herrera was third with Jason Johnson racing from 16th to fourth. Aaron Reutzel was fifth.

The finish:

Wayne Johnson, Danny Lasoski, Johnny Herrera, Jason Johnson, Aaron Reutzel, Brady Bacon, Danny Wood, Kolt Walker, Brad Loyet, Gary Wright, Seth Bergman, Dustin Morgan, Klint Angelette, Shawn Petersen, John Carney II, Matt Covington, Martin Edwards, Logan Forler, Patrick Stasa, Brian Brown, Tony Bruce Jr., Larry Howery.


SPEED SPORT Magazine “digital edition” now available for iPad and iPhone!

Get one year for just $12.99. Single issues (including back issues) are available for $2.99.
Click here to visit the iTunes App Store for details!


Posted by on Jun 16 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, SOUTH, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!