Latest Headlines

Johnson Snares Gulf South Opener

Wayne Johnson won Friday night's ASCS Gulf South Region opener in Beaumont, Texas. ( photo)

BEAUMONT, Texas — The Griffith Trucking and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region ignited its 2012 campaign Friday night at Golden Triangle Raceway Park with Wayne Johnson winning the first of the 26 races for the series.

A packed house saw Johnson snare the $3,000 winner’s purse at the quarter-mile dirt track.

Johnson took the lead from Tony Bruce Jr. on the sixth lap and paced the remainder of the 30 tours for his first victory of the season.

Bruce finished second ahead of Bary Wright, Tommy Bryant and Seth Bergman.

The finish:

Wayne Johnson, Tony Bruce Jr., Gary Wright, Tommy Bryant, Seth Bergman, Travis Elliott, Larry Howery, Michael McNeil, Chris Sweeney, Brandon Berryman, Beau Smith, Aaron Reutzel, Jimmy Brooks, Greg Rilat, Klint Angelette, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Logan Bledsoe, Wes Miller, Travis Rilat, Gary Watson.

BREAKING NEWS: SPEED SPORT is back in print with a new monthly format!
Subscribe for just $24.95. Special offer for former subscribers.


Posted by on Mar 17 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Racing Nation, SOUTH, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!