Latest Headlines

KNOXVILLE LIVE: Lucky Seven For Schatz!

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Live updates on the 53rd FVP Knoxville Nationals.

-Donny Schatz wins his seventh Knoxville Nationals in the last eight years, winning from 21st starting spot.

It is the farthest back a winner has ever come from. Brian Brown finished second for the second straight year.

-9 to go, Schatz leads

-17 laps to go, Schatz is second. Brown has half straightaway lead

-21 laps to go, Brown has huge lead, Schatz is up to third.

11:10 p.m.: The field is rolling again and lining up for a restart.

11:01 p.m.: The halfway break red flag is about to appear with 24 of  50 laps in the books. Brian Brown leads Joey Saldana, Justin Henderson, Kevin Swindell and Donny Schatz. Chad Kemenah has moved from 19th to seventh.

10:55: Yellow flag when Ian Madsen stops on the track. Brian Brown continues to lead the race. Donny Schatz is up to sixth from 21st.

10:48 p.m.: Two more laps in the books before another yellow when Daryn Pittman hits the wall.Brian Brown still leads. Schatz is up to 12th.

10:43: Yellow flag after three laps when Cody Darrah spun. Brian Brown is the leader with Shane Stewart second.

10:40 p.m.: The field is rolling again.

10:35 p.m.: Stevie Smith, who started 14th, flipped in the first turn of the opening lap. He is out of the car.

10:32 p.m.: The four-wide parade lap just finished and fireworks are lighting up the sky. Green flag is minutes away.

10:16 p.m.: Driver introductions are just wrapping up.

-Danny Dietrich has been named Rookie of the Knoxville Nationals.

9:49: Donny Schatz got faster as the B main went and passed Lynton Jeffrey exiting the fourth turn on the final lap to win the B main. Schatz, Jeffrey, Dusty Zomer and Ian Madsen are the final four transfers to the feature. Jeffrey, Zomer and Madsen are Knoxville Raceway regulars.

9:39 p.m.: We’re 9 laps into the 22-lap B main and the red flag just came out when Sam Hafertepe Jr. did a slow roll over in turn two. Lynton Jeffrey has led every lap. Donny Schatz is second followed by Scott Winters and Jason Sides. Four cars transfer to the feature.

9:19 p.m.: Chad Kemenah (16.919 seconds) and Justin Henderson (16.811 seconds) paced the two hot lap sessions for A-main cars.

9:10 p.m.: Sam Hafertepe Jr. won the C main. Tim Shaffer, Danny Dietrich and Josh Schneiderman also transferred. Kraig Kinser finished fifth and Sammy Swindell seventh. Swindell will fail to qualify for the Knoxville Nationals for the second consecutive year.

9:06 p.m.: Yellow flag with 10 of 15 laps down in the C main. Sam Hafertepe Jr. leads Tim Shaffer, Danny Dietrich and Josh Schneiderman. Sammy Swindell has moved from 22nd to 12th.

8:54: p.m.: Tasker Phillips took a huge hit and flipped his No. 7taz on the second lap of the C main. He climbed from the car under his own power.

8:53 p.m.: C Main is going green.

8:46 p.m.: A little bit of a break while push trucks run in the top of the track. C main is staged.

8:42 p.m.: Craig Dollansky was quick in the second B main hot-lap session.

8:39 p.m.: Tim Kaeding turned the quickest lap during the first B main hot-lap session.

8:29 p.m.: Dale Blaney won the D main with Sheldon Haudenschild second and 16th-starter Sammy Swindell third. Kaley Gharst and Rob Kubli also transferred to the C main.

8:20: D main is lined up behind the pace car. Five drivers transfer to the C. Sammy Swindell starts 16th.

8:15 p.m.: Tim Shaffer was fastest in the second hot-lap session for C main cars. The D main is pushing off.

8:12 p.m.: Sam Hafertepe was quick during the first of two C main hot laps sessions with a lap of 15.514 seconds.

8:05 p.m.: Sammy Swindell took the lead from A.J. Moeller on lap five and went on to win the E main. Also transferring were A.J. Moeller, Thomas Kennedy, Bill Balog, Paul Morris, Glen Saville and Kevin Ingle

7:59 p.m.: The E main is lining up behind the pace car. The stands appear between 90 and 95 percent full.

-Because of a few scratches, 7 cars will transfer from the E main to the D. Twelve cars are scheduled for the E.

7:52 p.m.: The national anthem is complete and E main cars are rolling into the staging area.

-The best appearing car of the Knoxville Nationals award was presented to the team with driver Justin Henderson.

7:40 p.m.: D main hot laps are in the books. Jonathan Allard was quick with a 15.789-second lap of the half-mile oval.

7:34 p.m.: The E main cars have completed their hot-lap session. Sammy Swindell turned the quickest lap at 15.907 seconds.

-Two-time World of Outlaws champion Jason Meyers is here this weekend. Because of business commitments for he and the Tarlton family for which he has raced on the West Coast this year, kept them from competing here.

“We weren’t going to run the Knoxville Nationals just to run the Knoxville Nationals,” Meyers said. “If we were going to run the Knoxville Nationals, we wanted to be in a position to win the Knoxville Nationals.”

Meyers says he plans to run some races in the fall in California and is working on some things that would bring him back to sprint car racing on a more regular basis.

Justin Henderson’s No. 1d earned best-appearing car honors for the Knoxville Nationals. (Paul Arch photo)

7:24 p.m.: Hot laps have yet to begin and it looks like a handsome crowd this evening with 75 percent of the 25,000 seats already full.

7:23 p.m.: The first E and D main cars are wheel packing the race track.

The final night of the 53rd FVP Knoxville Nationals is getting under way with push trucks on the track running in the race track.

Hot laps should begin at approximately 7:15 p.m. local time.

The first event on the track will be the E main, which will transfer four drivers to the back of the D main. E main competitors include Bryan Clauson, Danny Holtgraver, Sammy Swindell and Bill Balog.

The D main includes polesitter Kaley Gharst, Dale Blaney, Bill Rose, Rico Abreu, Jonathan Allard, Brady Bacon and Greg Wilson.

Sam Hafertepe Jr. starts on the pole for the C main with Ed Lynch Jr., Danny Dietrich, Tim Shaffer, Brad Loyet, Lance Dewease and Kraig Kinser part of the field.

B Main racers include Scott Winters, Jason Sides, Donny Schatz, Terry McCarl, Tim Kaeding, Craig Dollansky, Jeff Swindell and Wayne Johnson.

Joey Saldana and Brian Brown will share the front row for the feature that pays $150,000 to the winner at the end of the night.

The 50-lap feature will include a fuel stop that is expected to come sometime between lap 20 and lap 30.



Posted by on Aug 10 2013 Filed under Featured, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!