Latest Headlines

Sadler Will Drive No. 55 For MWR

Elliott Sadler will drive the No. 55 for Michael Waltrip racing for the remainder of the 2013 season. (NASCAR Photo)

Elliott Sadler will drive the No. 55 for Michael Waltrip racing for the remainder of the 2013 season. (NASCAR Photo)

CORNELIUS, N.C. – Michael Waltrip Racing announced today that Elliott Sadler will drive the No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota in the 2013 season’s final four NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races.

Sadler replaces Brian Vickers, who informed MWR on Oct. 14 that he would be unavailable for the remainder of the season due to anti-coagulation medications he will be taking to treat a small blood clot in his right leg. Doctors have told Vickers he will be on the medication at least two months.

Sadler, who drives a Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota full time in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, will begin racing the No. 55 at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway on Oct. 27. He will finish the season for the Scott Miller led team at Texas Motor Speedway, Phoenix Int’l Raceway and Homestead-Miami Speedway.

“First, I am already a teammate of Brian’s at Joe Gibbs Racing and it is really tough to see him going through this again,” said Sadler. “Both of us have fought hard to get back in a position to win at NASCAR’s highest level. I am honored to have this opportunity to drive for MWR because I know their cars are competitive. I want to thank Rob Kauffman, Michael and Aaron’s for giving me this chance. In the meantime, our thoughts and prayers will be for Brian to have a quick recovery.”

Waltrip explained how Sadler came to drive the No. 55.

“Elliott has all the attributes we were looking for. He’s experienced, familiar with Toyota, has a great attitude plus he’s a heck of a driver,” said the two-time Daytona 500 champion. “We’ll pair him with Scott Miller and the No. 55 guys and I know they’ll have the Aaron’s Dream Machine at the front of the field. I also want to thank everyone at Joe Gibbs Racing and Toyota for letting us borrow Elliott for a few races.”

Sadler has 431 Sprint Cup starts with victories at Texas and Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., in 2004 and Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway in 2001.

Posted by on Oct 17 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Sprint Cup, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!