Latest Headlines

Stanbrough Wraps Up Non-Winged Title

With three victories at Gas City, Terre Haute and Bloomington, Jon Stanbrough (53) earned the 2010 Indiana Sprint Week title. (Gordon Gill Photo)

With three victories at Gas City, Terre Haute and Bloomington, Jon Stanbrough (53) earned the 2010 Indiana Sprint Week title. (Gordon Gill Photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Jon Stanbrough has been named the 2010 Driver of the Year by the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll voting panel for the third time in his career.

Earning 11 of the 18 first-place ballots cast by the panel media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers, the Brownsburg, Ind., racer and 2010 King of Indiana Sprint Series and Indiana Sprint Week champ adds the title to the previous awards he earned in 2006 and 2007. Stanbrough’s car owners Brad and Steve Fox have earned their third Team of the Year distinction.

In second behind Stanbrough is 2010 USAC Sprint Car and Silver Crown series titlist Levi Jones, who earned seven first-place ballots, followed by Damion Gardner, USAC National Driver’s champion Bryan Clauson and USAC-CRA champ Mike Spencer. Drivers ranking sixth through 10th, respectively, are Dave Darland, Chris Windom, 2008 Driver of the Year Jerry Coons, Jr., Midwest Sprint Car Series champ Blake Fitzpatrick and Shane Hmiel. Fitzpatrick also earned the Wild Car Award for his exciting sprint-car performances during the season.

Sean Buckley, “Follow the Corn” documentary filmmaker and web master for, has been named the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll’s Media Member of the Year for the first time, while Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway promoter Dave Rudisell has earned his second-straight Promoter of the Year title.

Indiana’s Wes McIntyre has been selected as the 2010 Rookie of the Year. Joe Devin of DRC Chassis will receive the Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for his fourth time.

The top 25:

1. Jon Stanbrough

2. Levi Jones

3. Damion Gardner

4. Bryan Clauson

5. Mike Spencer

6. Dave Darland

7. Chris Windom

8. Jerry Coons, Jr.

9. Blake Fitzpatrick

10. Shane Hmiel

11. Robert Ballou

12. Tracy Hines

13. Bud Kaeding

14. Cory Kruseman

15. Dickie Gaines

16. David Cardey

17. Danny Sheridan

18. Tony Hunt

19. Matt Mitchell

20. Craig Stidham

21. Charles Davis, Jr.

22. Andrew Elson

23. Blake Miller

24. Thomas Meseraull

25. Shane Hollingsworth

Posted by on Jan 15 2011 Filed under iRacing, Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!