NMPA Hall Of Fame Selects New Members

DARLINGTON, S.C. – The National Motorsports Press Ass’n has selected three new members to be inducted into the NMPA Hall of Fame in January.

Longtime NASCAR executive and former track president Jim Hunter, Pocono Raceway founder and patriarch Dr. Joseph Mattioli and veteran sportscaster Ken Squier will enter the Hall of Fame during a ceremony on Jan. 19 in Charlotte, N.C.

The three were selected on more than 65 percent of the ballots cast by NMPA members to earn induction into the Hall of Fame.

Hunter started his career as a journalist in South Carolina, then moved into the public relations field, eventually rising to the role of track president at Darlington Raceway. Hunter, one of the most trusted friends of longtime president Bill France Jr., then took on corporate roles with NASCAR and International Speedway Corp. and remained with NASCAR for the rest of his life.

Mattioli founded Pocono Raceway in the early 1960s and began hosting NASCAR Sprint Cup races there in 1974. Mattioli was a hands-on track operator who worked to stay on top of enhancements and led NASCAR into a new era by building a solar energy system on 25 acres of the track’s property to make it a leader in environmental fields.

Squier, a native of Vermont, began his racing career as a track announcer at the age of 14. One of the original founders of Motor Racing Network, he later became a fixture in the broadcast booth for CBS. Squier continues to be a part of racing through his radio station in Vermont and the Thunder Road track he built in his home state.

Posted by on Dec 6 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, More. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Related Articles

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!