AMA Supercross & Motocross

Bisceglia Adds Second Loretta Lynn Victory

Matt Bisceglia

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. — Rising motocross star Matt Bisceglia fought through a nearly five-hour rain delay, a bad start and a river of mud Wednesday to win his second moto in as many days at the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch.

Bisceglia’s day was supposed to be over by lunchtime, however heavy rain overnight and throughout the morning pushed back the start of his 250A race until late in the afternoon. After nearly and extra hour of track prep the Loretta Lynn’s course went from a swamp to merely just very muddy, which made for one of the toughest races of Bisceglia’s career aboard his AMSOIL/Factory Connection Honda.

“This moto was so hard,” he said. “I didn’t have the best of gate picks or the best of starts. I just had a bad rut in front of his gate. But my bike hooked up well once I made the first turn and I did what he could.”

He did two important things that proved to be the key to his success. First, he kept his bike upright the whole race, which allowed him to constantly gain time as other race leaders were tipping over nearly every lap. Second, by not falling over himself, he kept vital parts of his engine relatively free of performance-choking mud.

“I came out of the start about 10th, but made some smart passes on the first laps,” Bisceglia said. “From there I started catching guys little by little. I just rode smart. Most of the other guys fell. I was catching them a little bit, but probably not enough to win if they didn’t fall. It worked out for me.”

Youngster Jett Reynolds won in a pair of categories (65, 7-9 Limited and 51, 7-8 Limited), as did Aaron Plessinger (450B Limited and 250 B). Timmy Ferry (Vet 35+ won for the second consecutive day.

Other winners were Jace Owen (450A), Tyler McSwain (450 B), Derek Valenzuala (450 C), Jerry Robin (Two-Stroke B/C 16+), Ty Materpool (65, 7-11), Jake Fuerst (250 C), Keith Johnson (Senior 40+), (250B), Jake Balkovic (Super Mini 2 13-16), Joey Crown (Mini Sr., 12-14), Garrett Marchbanks (85, 9-11Limited), Mackenzie Tricker (Women, 14+), Jarek Balkovic (Schoolboy 1, 12-16B/C), Ryan Surratt (Schoolboy 2, 13-16B/C), Jace Kessler (65, 10-11 Limited), Noah Gordon (51, 4-6) Limited), Daxton Bennick (51, 4-6 Special Limited) and Levi Bolton (4-6, Shaft Drive Ltd).



Posted by on Aug 1 2013 Filed under AMA Supercross & Motocross, Latest Headlines, Motorcycles, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Related Articles

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!