AMA Supercross & Motocross

Bisceglia Keeps Rolling at Loretta Lynn’s

Matt Bisceglia rode to another victory Thursday in the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch.

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. — It was another day of double wins for the AMSOIL/Factory Connection Honda team on Thursday at the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch.

Jordon Smith won his first Loretta Lynn’s holeshot ever en route to winning for a second time in the 250B Limited class, and teammate Matt Bisceglia won his second gold medal in the Open Pro Sport class.

It was hard telling what made Smith happier after the race: getting his first holeshot at the Ranch or avenging his bad Wednesday, when he suffered a DNF in his 250B race.

“My first holeshot ever in nine years of racing here,” Smith said. “I got a good start. It’s a good feeling to go around that first turn with nobody in front of you. I was saying, ‘Please cross the stripe first!’ I did and it was awesome.”

After adding the strong start to his personal checklist, Smith powered through a rough track and the setting sun to build a commanding lead.

“With my motor blowing yesterday, I wanted to come out and show them what I had,” Smith said. “I rode really hard the first half of the race, built a 10-second lead, and just rode it in from there. The track was rough and there were a lot of square edges out there today, which you really never see here. It was fun to mix it up and I definitely had a good time.”

Bisceglia won his third moto of the week and second in Open Pro Sport using the same formula: steady and mistake-free riding.

“With the three-moto format, anything can go wrong or can go right for you,” Bisceglia said. “I’ve been riding smart the whole time. There might be some motos where I have to pick it up a little bit down the line.”

Adam Nickerson picked up victories in the 250C and 250 C Limited divisions.

Other winners were: Robbie Reynard (Vet, 35+), Cameron Cannon (Mini Sr, 12-14), Jalek Swoll (85, 9-11 Limited), Mackenzie Tricker (Women 14+), Benny Bloss (Schoolboy 2, 13-16 B/C), Derek Valenzuela (450 C), Aiden Tijero (65, 10-11 Limited), Jett Reynolds (65, 7-9 Limited), Aaron Plessinger (450 B Limited), Austin Forkner (Super Mini 1, 12-15), Jett Reynolds (A 51, 7-8 Limited), Haiden Deegan (51, 4-6 Limited), Daxton Bennick (51, 4-6 Special Limited), Kyler Rhom (51, 4-6 Shaft Drive Ltd), Garrett Marchbanks (85, 9-11), Michael Barnum (College B/C, 16-24), Trampas Parker (Senior, 45+), Kevin Foley (Masters, 50+), Bradley Taft (Schoolboy 1, 12-16 B/C), Hannah Hodges (Girls, 12-16), Jazzmyn Canfield (Girls, 9-11), Timmy Ferry (Junior, 25+), Joey Crown (Mini Sr, 12-14 Limited) and Michael Mitchell (Vet B/C 30+).


Posted by on Aug 2 2013 Filed under AMA Supercross & Motocross, Latest Headlines, Motorcycles, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!