AMA Supercross & Motocross

Roczen Rules: Martin Is 250 Class Champ

Ken Roczen was the overall 450 class winner during Saturday's Lucas Oil Pro Motocross round in Crawfordsville, Ind. (Simon Cudby photo)

Ken Roczen was the overall 450 class winner during Saturday’s Lucas Oil Pro Motocross round in Crawfordsville, Ind. (Simon Cudby photo)

CRAWFORDSVILLE, Ind. — The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, entered the penultimate round of its 12-race championship series on Saturday with the inaugural running of the Thor Indiana National.

In what could be considered the most unpredictable conditions of the season, Saturday’s racing action came away with very little surprises, including the crowning of the first National Champion of 2014 with Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin clinching the 250 class title one round early.

In the 450 Class, Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen emerged victorious with a 1-2 performance to further extend his point lead over teammate Ryan Dungey as the series heads into the final round next week.

With natural rolling hills and a flowing layout, the brand new Ironman Raceway track was quickly deemed one of the most favorable tracks on the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross circuit, that is until the rain began to fall Saturday morning. Track conditions went from being perfect, to less than idea, in just the matter of hours.

Roczen put himself into a favorable position right away by grabbing the Holeshot Award in the first 450 class moto, Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard tucked in behind Roczen off the start, where he kept himself within striking distance through the first half of the moto.

Dungey experienced an issue off the start that caused him to get hung up just before the first turn, where he began around fifth on the opening lap. Roczen capitalized on the clear track ahead, especially with the muddy track conditions in the first moto, and put a gap on Canard and the rest of the field.

However, Dungey was bound and determined to close the gap on his teammate early on and the Minnesota native eventually charged past Canard, who went down mid-moto, to take over second.

Dungey maintained second place in moto one, with Canard finishing in third. GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac, who claimed the Oakley Bomb Fastest Qualifier Award, made a late pass on Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Brett Metcalfe to capture fourth, while BTO Sports/KTM’s Matt Goerke rounded out the top five.

In moto two, Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard grabbed the Holeshot and pulled away from the rest of the field to earn his second win in the last three motos. Roczen jumped into the second place position on the opening lap, but the 450 class point leader wasn’t able to match the pace of a hard-charging Canard.

Rockstar Energy Racing/KTM’s Ryan Sipes put himself into podium contention early on with a top-three holeshot in the second moto. Despite a crash late in the race, Sipes was able to tap into his newfound cross-country skills to maintain a solid and consistent pace. BTO Sports/KTM’s Andrew Short maintained a top five running throughout the entire moto, engaging in battle with Sipes for the final podium position. In the end, Sipes prevailed to capture third in the moto, with Short in fourth and Toyota/JGRMX/Yamaha’s Josh Grant rounded out the top five.

Dungey once again suffered from a bad start in the second moto, checking in just outside the top ten on the opening lap. The Red Bull KTM rider wasn’t able to make up much ground, finishing a disappointing ninth place in the second moto. Dungey’s 2-9 moto scores were good enough to capture third overall for the day, where he lost 13 points in the championship standings.

Posted by on Aug 17 2014 Filed under AMA Supercross & Motocross, Latest Headlines, Motorcycles, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!