Hayes Leads The Way In Utah

Three-time and defending AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike champion Josh Hayes set the fastest time during provisional qualifying today at Miller Motorsports Park. (Brian J. Nelson Photo)

TOOELE, Utah — Josh Hayes, Cameron Beaubier and Tomas Puerta topped the time sheets in preliminary qualifying today for their respective classes as GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing kicked off its annual visit to Miller Motorsports Park.

The AMA Pro Road Racing event, Round 6 of the nine-round 2013 championship, features four different classes of motorcycles in a double-header format. The AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike, AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike and AMA Pro SuperSport classes will have races on both Saturday and Sunday, while the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson series will race only on Sunday.

In Friday’s provisional qualifying, three-time and defending National Guard SuperBike champ Josh Hayes claimed the provisional pole position with a lap at 1:51.021 on his No. 1 Monster Energy/Graves Yamaha YZF-R1, edging Roger Hayden (National Guard/Jordan Motorsports Suzuki GSX-R1000) by 0.370 second.

Hayes’ teammate Josh Herrin, who was fastest for most of the session, wound up third fastest with a lap at 1:51.395, just .004 second slower than Hayden. Martin Cardenas (Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000) and Danny Eslick (Jordan Motorsports Suzuki GSX-R1000) completed the top five. Local wild-card entrant Oleg Pianykh (Wicked Audio Suzuki GSX-R1000) of Salt Lake City clocked the 16th-fastest time in the field of 23 bikes.

In the GoPro Daytona SportBike class, Yamaha rider and current championship leader Cameron Beaubier was the fastest of four riders who broke the existing track record for the class. Beaubier, riding the No. 6 Yamaha Extended Service/Monster Energy Yamaha YZF-R6, timed in at 1:53.637, smashing the existing record of 1:55.219 set by Jason DiSalvo on a Ducati in 2011.

Beaubier’s teammate Garrett Gerloff was second fastest today at 1:54.758, followed by Jake Lewis (Meen Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:54.844), DiSalvo (Latus Motors Triumph Daytona 675, 1:55.135) and J.D. Beach (RoadRace Factory Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:55.474).

Tomas Puerta, riding the No. 12 RoadRace Factory Yamaha YZF-R6, set the fast time in the SuperSport class, stopping the clocks at 1:57.189, breaking the existing track record of 1:58.384 set by Benny Solis on a Honda in 2011.

Jeffrey Tigert (Baby Appleseed/CM Motorsport Yamaha YZF-R6) was second fastest at 1:57.252, with Wyatt Ferris (Meen Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R6), Joe Roberts (California Superbike School Honda CBR600RR) and Stefano Mesa ( Yamaha YZF-R6) completing the top five, all of whom were under the existing track record.

Posted by on Aug 2 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, MotoAmerica, Motorcycles, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!