Marquez Makes It 10 In A Row At IMS

With his win Sunday at Indianapolis, Marc Marquez is 10-for-10 in MotoGP this season. (Ginny Heithaus photo)

With his win Sunday at Indianapolis, Marc Marquez is 10-for-10 in MotoGP this season. (Ginny Heithaus photo)

INDIANAPOLIS – It would be an understatement to say that 2014 has been kind to Marc Marquez.

He still hasn’t lost a race this season.

The defending MotoGP World Champion won his 10th consecutive race on Sunday at the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix, with Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi joining him on the podium.

Rossi led the early going, but was unable to hold off a charging Marquez in the closing stages of the grand prix. Marquez (Repsol Honda) became the first rider to win 10 straight races since Mick Doohan achieved the feat in 1997.

It was also the 100th win for a Spanish rider in the premier class and the 500th win for Spain across all categories.

On Lap 11 of the first MotoGP contest at the modified Indianapolis track, Marquez took advantage as Lorenzo joined the battle with Rossi for the lead, the World Champion squeezing through to take over at the front and not looking back – eventually finishing just under two seconds clear at the front.

Lorenzo got the better of his teammate Rossi for second, after the Italian had held the lead in the early stages fending off a challenge from Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), who started well but faded to seventh. In finishing third Rossi becomes the first rider to score 4,000 premier class points.

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) finished fourth as he came through from eighth on the grid, gambling on a harder front tyre.

Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech3) rode well to finish fifth with his teammate Bradley Smith crossing the line sixth after suffering a heavy crash on Saturday in which he aggravated an old finger injury.

The finish:

Marc Marquez, Jorge Lorenzo, Valentino Rossi, Dani Pedrosa, Sol Espargaro, Bradley Smith, Andrea Dovizioso, Cal Crutchlow, Scott Redding, Hiroshi Aoyama, Karel Abraham, Mike Di Meglio, Colin Edwards, Michael Laverty, Broc Parkes, Leon Camier, Andrea Iannone, Aleix Espergaro, Stefan Bradl, Danilo Petrucci, Hector Barbera, Yonny Hernandez, Alvaro Bautista


Posted by on Aug 10 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, MotoGP, Motorcycles, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!