Other Motorcycle Racing

Excitement Builds For Classic TT Races

Isle Of Man TT races aren't just for the newest, fastest motorcycles in the world. (IOM photo)

Isle Of Man TT races aren’t just for the newest, fastest motorcycles in the world. (IOM photo)

ISLE OF MAN – Excitement is building for the second year of the Classic TT Races presented by Bennetts with just 60 days to go until the start of qualifying on Aug. 16.

Fans flocked to the Isle of Man for the inaugural event last year to witness some exciting racing around the TT Mountain Course as well as getting up close and personal with some of motorcycle racing’s biggest stars including Giacomo Agostini, Freddie Spencer, Phil Read, John McGuinness, Steve Baker and Kork Ballington.

The open paddock welcomed thousands of fans, who were able to get unique access to some of the most exotic classic racing motorcycles the world has ever seen.

A packed off-track entertainment schedule complemented the racing and parades with many of the leading motorcycle magazines calling the Classic TT the world’s number one classic motorcycle event in its first year.

The 2014 edition of the Classic TT looks set to build upon this success with another impressive array of star riders and motorcycle exotica in the line up. On the back of another four TT victories earlier this month, Michael Dunlop heads the Classic TT entry with rides in all three races. Joining him on the grid will be a host of his rivals from the TT including 21 times champion John McGuinness, 2014 race winners Gary Johnson and Dean Harrison, outright TT lap record holder Bruce Anstey and TT podium finishers in 2014 Guy Martin, William Dunlop, James Hillier and James Cowton.

Other current day TT stars set to do battle around the Mountain Circuit on classic racing machinery include the likes of last year’s 500cc Race winner Olie Linsdell, Ryan Farquhar, Dan Kneen, Keith Amor, Dan Cooper, Lee Johnson, Jamie Hamilton, Jamie Coward and Russ Mountford.

They will be joined by a plethora of Classic racing’s fastest men including Roy Richardson, Alan Oversby and Bill and Chris Swallow, not to mention 10 times TT winner Ian Lougher, who is continuing his career exclusively on classic racing machinery. Fans will also be eagerly awaiting the return of 9 times TT winner Charlie Williams, who makes his racing return to the Mountain Circuit after a 30 year absence.

The Classic TT will have a 1980s theme as the event celebrates the incredible career of the late Joey Dunlop.

Posted by on Jun 18 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Motorcycles, Other Motorcycle Racing, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!