Other Motorcycle Racing

New Classic TT Trophies Honor Past Riders

The new Isle of Man Classic TT trophies. (IOM photo)

The new Isle of Man Classic TT trophies. (IOM photo)

ISLE OF MAN – A set of new Classic TT Trophies, named after four of the greatest names in TT history, have been created for this year’s Isle of Man Classic TT Races presented by Bennetts.

The riders – Joey Dunlop (26 wins), Geoff Duke (six), Mike Hailwood (14) and Phil Read (eight), have accumulated a total of 54 TT Race victories between them.

The trophies will be awarded to recognise class wins within the races where there is more than one class competing in the race and fastest single cylinder machines in a race.

‘The Joey Dunlop Classic TT Trophy’ will be awarded to the rider of the first 750cc machine to finish the Motorsport Merchandise Formula 1 race on Monday 25th while The Phil Read Classic TT Trophy will go to the first 250cc machine in the Monday’s Okells 350cc Classic TT Race.

The other awards – the Mike Hailwood Classic TT Trophy and the Geoff Duke Classic TT Trophy will be awarded to the first single-cylinder 500cc machine in the Bennetts 500cc Classic TT race and the first single cylinder 350cc machine in the Okells 350cc Race respectively.

Posted by on Jul 16 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Motorcycles, Other Motorcycle Racing. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!