Sprint Cup

Could RCR Title Drought End In 2013?

Kevin Harvick celebrates his victory in the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway last weekend. (Rich Iceland Photo)

DOVER, Del. – Nearly two decades have passed since Richard Childress Racing won its last championship with Dale Earnhardt in 1994.

Over 19 years, drivers from five different teams – Hendrick Motorsports, Joe Gibbs Racing, Roush Fenway Racing, Stewart-Haas Racing and Penske Racing – have claimed NASCAR Sprint Cup Series titles.

Yet RCR remains relevant, winning 47 races from 1995 through Sunday when Kevin Harvick captured his second Coca-Cola 600. Harvick’s victory was RCR’s 103rd in NASCAR’s premier series.

Still, it’s been a long drought championship-wise for Childress, who shared six titles with NASCAR Hall of Famer Earnhardt and is himself a nominee for the Hall of Fame enshrinement.

The team’s championship “bests” since then have been thirds by Harvick in 2010-11 and Jeff Burton in 2006.

Harvick, a two-time winner in 2013, ranks seventh in NASCAR Sprint Cup standings entering Sunday’s FedEx 400 Benefiting Autism Speaks. Teammate Paul Menard, unheralded prior to the campaign’s beginning, is a surprising eighth.

Posted by on May 30 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Sprint Cup, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!