Sprint Cup

Johnson Stays Hot With Texas Pole

Jimmie Johnson earned his second-straight pole Friday afternoon at Texas Motor Speedway. (HHP/Harold Hinson Photo)

FORT WORTH, Texas – Jimmie Johnson continued to march toward his sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship by winning the pole Friday for the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Johnson claimed the pole with an impressive 28.26-second lap at 191.076 mph. He’ll be joined on the front row by Roush Fenway Racing’s Greg Biffle. Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer and Martin Truex, Jr. filled the top five in qualifying.

Brad Keselowski, who enters Sunday’s race only two points behind Johnson in the championship standings, qualified eighth in his No. 2 Penske Racing Dodge.

The go-or-go-homers that qualified for Sunday’s race were Trevor Bayne, J.J. Yeley, Scott Speed, Mike Bliss, Josh Wise, Michael McDowell, Reed Sorenson and Joe Nemechek.

Stephen Lecht, Kelly Bires and David Stremme failed to qualify.

Posted by on Nov 2 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Sprint Cup, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!