Sprint Cup

Logano On Pole, Keselowski Starts Third

Joey Logano will start from the pole on Sunday during the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. (HHP/Harold Hinson Photo)

HOMESTEAD, Fla. – Joey Logano will start his final race with Joe Gibbs Racing from the pole Sunday afternoon at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Logano, who was the last driver to make a qualifying attempt Friday evening, put his No. 20 Toyota on the pole during with a fast time of 30.672. Marcos Ambrose qualified second in his No. 9 Richard Petty Motorsports Ford.

It is Logano’s fifth career pole and his second of the season.

Brad Keselowski, who needs to finish 15th or better to clinch his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship on Sunday, qualified third in the No. 2 Penske Racing Dodge. His championship rival Jimmie Johnson qualified 10th.

Carl Edwards and Aric Almirola completed the top five in qualifying.

The go-or-go-homers that qualified for Sunday’s race are Trevor Bayne, David Stremme, Michael McDowell, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Mike Bliss, Josh Wise, J.J. Yeley and Scott Riggs.

Reed Sorenson, Stephen Leicht, Jason Leffler and Joe Nemechek failed to qualify.

Posted by on Nov 16 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Sprint Cup, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!