Touring Series

Bobby Santos Is Thompson Modified Star

Bobby Santos

Bobby Santos

THOMPSON, Conn. — It took overtime, but Bobby Santos collected his 10th career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win Thursday night with his victory in the Budweiser King of Beers 150 at Thompson Speedway.

It was Santos’ fourth win at Thompson and it came after he collected his fourth Coors Light Pole Award of the season. He also posted the fastest lap in practice.

Getting the win, however, was not so easy. Two green-white-checkered attempts stretched the race to 158 laps and Santos held off Donny Lia to take the checkered flag.

Eric Goodale finished third, followed by Doug Coby and Woody Pitkat.

Ron Silk, Jimmy Blewett, Jamie Tomaino, Todd Szegedy and Ron Yuhas Jr. rounded out the top 10.

Point leader Ryan Preece spun on the final lap and finished 13th. His championship lead – which was a high as 44 points four races ago – is down to 14 tallies over defending champion Doug Coby with five races remaining.

The finish:

Bobby Santos, Donny Lia, Eric Goodale, Doug Coby, Woody Pitkat, Ron Silk, Jimmy Blewett, Jamie Tomaino, Todd Szegedy, Ron Yuhas Jr., Mike Stefanik, Ed Flemke Jr., Ryan Preece, Eric Berndt, Wade Cole, Cole Powell, John Beatty Jr., Rowan Pennink, Gary McDonald, Justin Bonsignore, Richie Pallai Jr., Ted Christopher, Glen Reen, Ken Heagy, Rob Fuller, Bryon Chew, Brian Schofield.



Posted by on Aug 16 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Top Stories, Touring Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!