Touring Series

Fitzpatrick Completes Bowmanville Sweep

J.R. Fitzpatrick (84) on his way to victory in Sunday's NASCAR Canadian Tire Series race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park. (NASCAR Photo)

J.R. Fitzpatrick (84) on his way to victory in Sunday’s NASCAR Canadian Tire Series race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park. (NASCAR Photo)

BOWMANVILLE, Ontario – J.R. Fitzpatrick turned in another dominant performance to earn his fifth career NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 race at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and secure a season sweep at the famed Ontario road course.

Fitzpatrick, from Ayr, Ontario, took the lead in the Pinty’s presents the Clarington 200 for the second and final time on lap 34 in his No 84 Equipment Express/Autism Speaks Chevrolet and drove to his 10th career victory overall. He’s won a record five of the 10 all-time series events at CTMP, including both in 2014.

Jeff Lapcevich ended up second for the third time in the last four Canadian Tire Series events at CTMP to tie his career-best finish while Marc-Antione Camirand established a personal best when he crossed the line third. Season points leader L.P. Dumoulin finished fourth and Scott Steckly was fifth.

Gary Klutt, D.J. Kennington, Robin Buck, Brad Graham and Joey McColm brought home the top 10. Polesitter Andrew Ranger, who led 15 laps in the event, finished 29th out of 31 entries with a fuel pump failure.

The 51-lap race featured six lead changes among five different drivers and was slowed just twice by caution.

With the victory, Fitzpatrick cut seven points off of Dumoulin’s championship lead. With two races remaining in the season Dumoulin now leads Fitzpatrick 378-359. Ranger’s troubles dropped him from a tie for second to a distant third at 327.

The finish:

J.R. Fitzpatrick, Jeff Lapcevich, Marc-Antione Camirand, L.P. Dumoulin, Scott Steckly, Gary Klutt, D.J. Kennington, Robin Buck, Brad Graham, Joey McColm, Ryan Klutt, J.F. Dumoulin, Noel Dowler, Kerry Micks, James Van Domselaar, Steve Mathews, Larry Jackson, Jocelyn Fecteau, David Thorndyke, Alex Tagliani, Luc Lesage, Matt Pritiko, Curtis Fielding, Ray Courtemanche Jr., Derek White, Jason White, Simon Dion-Viens, Matthew Scannell, Andrew Ranger, Jason Hathaway, Peter Klutt.

Posted by on Aug 31 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Top Stories, Touring Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!