Touring Series

It’s Santos In N.H. Modified Thrill Ride

Bobby Santos celebrates after winning Saturday's NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. (NASCAR Photo)

Bobby Santos celebrates after winning Saturday’s NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. (NASCAR Photo)

LOUDON, N.H. – Bobby Santos entered the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Sunoco 100 looking for a little extra magic to change his fortunes at the “Magic Mile.”

He waited until the final lap, but he got it.

In a race that featured multiple lead changes on nearly every lap – 35 official lead changes – the Franklin, Mass., driver made just one pass for the lead and led just one lap Saturday. Santos drove his No. 44 Tinio Racing/ Chevrolet by Ted Christopher in turn four of the last lap en route to winning the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

It was Santos’ 13th career win but first in 16 career starts at the 1.058-mile oval.

Doug Coby also got by Christopher and finished second by just .065 seconds.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Ryan Newman was fourth and NASCAR Next driver Ryan Preece came home fifth. The top five cars finished within three-tenths of a second of the leader.

Justin Bonsignore finished sixth, followed by Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate Tommy Barrett Jr., NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour points leader Andy Seuss, Ron Silk and Chuck Hossfeld.

Silk, who won the Coors Light Pole Award in qualifying Saturday morning, led a race-high 36 laps. Preece led 30 laps and Christopher 28.

The race went into overtime – to a total of 110 laps – with two green-white-checkered finishes following late race cautions. The race had seven caution periods for 30 total laps.

During the first attempt at a green-white-checkered finish, Christopher and Newman exchanged the lead unofficially three times on the restart but a wreck by Donny Lia brought out the caution flag before the white flag was show. On the ensuing restart, Christopher initially got away before Santos and Co. chased him down on the final lap.

The finish:

Bobby Santos, Doug Coby, Ted Christopher, Ryan Newman, Ryan Preece, Justin Bonsignore, Tommy Barrett Jr., Andy Seuss, Ron Silk, Chuck Hossfeld, Timmy Solomito, Matt Hirschman, Jimmy Zacharias, Jamie Tomaino, Wade Cole, Dave Salzarulo, Rowan Pennink, Donny Lia, Eric Goodale, Patrick Emerling, Gary McDonald, Todd Szegedy, Glen Reen, J.R. Bertuccio, Woody Pitkat, Ken Heagy, Ron Yuhas Jr., Spencer Davis, Melissa Fifield, Mike Stefanik.


Posted by on Jul 12 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Top Stories, Touring Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!