Touring Series

Lia Grabs Loudon Modified Pole

LOUDON, N.H. – Donny Lia set the fast mark in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour qualifying at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Friday to win the Coors Light Pole for the F.W. Webb 100.

The two-time tour champion lapped the Magic Mile in 29.352 seconds at an average speed of 129.763 mph. It marks the first pole this season and 16th career pole for the Jericho, N.Y., driver, who pilots the No. 4 Mystic Missile Racing Dodge. It’s his first pole at NHMS, the site of two of 16 career wins.

Doug Coby, who leads the championship standings, was second quickest with a lap of 29.571 seconds (128.802 mph). He was followed by Ron Silk, Ryan Preece and Ted Christopher.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Ryan Newman turned in the sixth fastest lap on his first qualifying lap, then bounced off the Turn 2 wall on his second lap. Newman drove to the garage with damage to the nose of his car.

Jimmy Blewett, Justin Bonsignore, Eric Goodale and Mike Stefanik completed the top 10 in qualifying.


Posted by on Sep 21 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, NASCAR, Touring Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!