Block & Gelsomino Rock Susquehannock Trail

“It was a good win especially after the last year we had,” said Sterckx “We also started this season really bad, but after the second event we got better and now have won two events in a row. We have to keep it this way to win the Championship.”

Rally America’s youngest rally driver, Mason Moyle, with co-driver John Hall took second place to land on their fourth Super Production podium, and Garry Gill (winner of an India National Rally Championship round in a two-wheel drive car) with co-driver Paddy Robinson took third place for his first U.S. podium.

In only their second Rally America event Australians Brendan Reeves and Rhianon Smyth won the Two-Wheel Drive (2WD) category in their 2012 Ford Fiesta R2 despite Reeves dealing with a cold that sapped his stamina. Reeves led the category from the beginning and stayed just ahead of Scion Racing’s Andrew Comrie-Picard and Jeremy Wimpey. Reeves impressively finished fourth overall besting his fifth overall finish at the Oregon Trail Rally.

“The car performed excellent and we were trying to push to keep third place overall, but Higgins had to spoil that fun,” said Reeves. “It’s a great win and we’ll see if we can keep racing in Rally America this year.”

Comrie-Picard survived three broken transmissions, a roll during testing, but more importantly finished second place to preserve his 2WD National standings lead. Amazingly, Dillon Van Way and Andrew Edwards, also came through a rough rally event to take third place despite a broken drive shaft, turbo power loss and a fused clutch.

James Robinson and Jordan Guitar rebounded from not finishing at the Oregon Trail Rally to take the B-Spec Championship round win at STPR. Robinson keeps Honda on top of the B-Spec Manufacturers’ Championship while leading his B-Spec category.

Ford maintains third place in the overall Manufacturers’ Championship, but gained some ground on Subaru, which leads both the overall and the Super Production categories. Ford will overtake Scion for the Two-Wheel Drive category in the Manufacturers’ race with this STPR win.

In the Jack Sherwood Forest Rally for Regional competitors, Justin Prichard and Ryan Scott won in their Subaru Impreza, while Mark Piatkowski and Robert Maciejski took the Finger Lakes Regional Rally.

Posted by on Jun 2 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Off Road, Rally. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!