Racing History

Chili Bowl 1991: McSpadden Holds Off Swindell For Golden Driller

The 25th annual Chili Bowl Nationals will be held Jan. 11-15 at the QuickTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

In celebration of the Silver Anniversary of this prestigious indoor midget race, will be publishing the race reports that appeared in the pages of National Speed Sport News for the first 24 runnings of the event.

Beginning with the inaugural event in 1987, race recaps will be posted on a daily basis from Dec. 18 through Jan. 10.

No One Passes McSpadden In Chili Bowl Midget Finale


UP THE ANTE: Strawberry king J.W. Hunt (left) adds a few dollars to Lealand McSpadden’s kitty following his victory in Saturday night’s fifth annual Chili Bowl Midget Nationals inside the Tulsa (Okla.) Expo Center. (Tom Davey Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Arizona’s Lealand McSpadden led flag-to-flag in winning the 50-lap feature during the fifth annual Original Chili Bowl Midget Nationals before a crowd of 5,251 Saturday night at Tulsa Expo Raceway. Combined with his prelim victory Thursday night, McSpadden took home $7,000 for his efforts.


The “Tempe Tornado” had some serious pressure from World of Outlaws sprint car regular Sammy Swindell in the latter stages of the race, as the Bartlett, Tenn., resident ran the low groove while McSpadden controlled the cushion. Swindell pulled even a few times, but McSpadden kept the Bondio Fabrication/John Barnes Arias-powered midget in front by four car lengths at the checkered flag.

WoO champion Steve Kinser finished third in Terry Caves’ Lightning with Dan Boorse fourth. Andy Hillenburg, who flipped on the sixth lap, came back to finish fifth in the Keith Kuaz National Halibrand mount.

Kevin Doty, Ron Shuman, Brent Kaeding, Stevie Reeves and Randy Roberts rounded out the top 10. Kevin Olson, Shane Carson, Robby Flock and Johnny Parsons all crashed out at the same time as Reeves spun and collected all three during the 27th lap.

Tim Siner led wire-to-wire to win the first C feature over Aaron Berryhill and Bobby Schneider. Scott Frew passed Scott Bettes on the final lap to gain the last transfer spot to the B feature.

HERE THEY COME: The starting field for Saturday night’s Chili Bowl Midget Nationals feature scatters to find the best line as event winner Lealand McSpadden (47), runner-up Sammy Swindell (71) and Steve Kinser (2k) head to the front. (Max Dolder Photo)

Mark Passerelli blasted by Kenny French on the 15th lap to win the second C feature. French held on for second, followed by B main qualifiers Robert Harr, Marty Davis and Mark Stasa.

The second C main was marred by an injury to infield cornerman Jackie Wicker, who was run over by Jim Parsons. Wicker was taken by helicopter to St. Francis Hospital in Tulsa with a broken jaw.

Dean Billings took the checkered flag first in another wire-to-wire win in the first B feature. Following Billings over the stripe were Steve Enlow, Roberts, Phillip Heavelow and Dan Ford.

Dan Boorse blew by Danny Frye on the fifth lap and went on to win the second B feature, as Johnny Parsons took second from Frye on the 13th lap. Pete Frazier was fourth and Bobby Davis, Jr. rounded out the top five.

The summary:

Feature (40 laps):

  1. Lealand McSpadden;
  2. Sammy Swindell;
  3. Steve Kinser;
  4. Dan Boorse;
  5. Andy Hillenburg;
  6. Kevin Doty;
  7. Ron Shuman;
  8. Brent Kaeding;
  9. Stevie Reeves;
  10. Randy Roberts;
  11. Mike Streicher;
  12. Dean Billings;
  13. Phillip Heavelow;
  14. Steve Enlow;
  15. Danny Frye;
  16. Shane Carson;
  17. Johnny Parsons;
  18. Kevin Olson;
  19. Pete Frazier;
  20. Robby Flock.

Thursday Night Preliminary: Lealand McSpadden

Friday Night Preliminary: Sammy Swindell

Posted by on Dec 22 2010 Filed under Chili Bowl History, Featured, Racing History. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!