Racing History

Chili Bowl 1993: Dave Blaney Shines In Chili Bowl Debut

The 25th annual Chili Bowl Nationals will be held Jan. 11-15 at the QuickTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

In celebration of the Silver Anniversary of this prestigious indoor midget race, will be publishing the race reports that appeared in the pages of National Speed Sport News for the first 24 runnings of the event.

Beginning with the inaugural event in 1987, race recaps will be posted on a daily basis from Dec. 18 through Jan. 10.

Rides Thursday Win All The Way To Golden Driller


FOCUSED: Thursday night preliminary winner Dave Blaney prepares for battle before the seventh annual Chili Bowl Midget Nationals at Tulsa (Okla.) Expo Raceway Saturday night. Blaney went on to win the event. (Chris Economaki Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Dave Blaney took the lead from NASCAR’s Ken Schrader on the fourth lap and led to the checker in the 50-lap seventh annual Chili Bowl midget feature at Tulsa Expo Raceway before a capacity crowd Saturday night.

$5,000 PAYDAY

The win in Ralph Potter’s, McCreary-shod V-6 powered Beast was worth $5,000 to Blaney who almost lost it on the 38th lap when he slid a little high off turn four allowing Brent Kaeding room to sneak underneath. Fortunately a spin by Tony Stewart, winner of the evening’s Fram Dash, forced a yellow, putting Blaney back on top on the restart. When the green waved Blaney tightened his line on the bottom groove and finished four car lengths ahead of Ron Shuman who blasted by Kaeding on the 43rd lap for the runner-up spot. Kaeding held on to third followed by Kevin Doty and Dean Erfurth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Scott Hatton, Jack Hewitt who qualified out of the B and came from 23rd to seventh at the checker, Danny Lasoski, Don Boorse and Sammy Swindell.

When started Monte Ross waved the green for the start of the event, Blaney took the point until the second lap when Schrader made an inside move to take over. Blaney returned the favor two laps later and took over with Schrader and Danny Lasoski in tow. Lasoski’s mount stalled in turn two forcing a yellow on the fifth lap. The red flag waved on the eighth lap when Kenny Irwin flipped in turn three. Jimmy Sills and Steve Knepper were also involved with Sills towed to the pits and Knepper sent to the rear.

Schrader broke a fuel pump drive belt and headed to the infield on lap 21, handing second to Shuman who was riding hard on the cushion. Kaeding, not to be denied, took second again on the 27th lap but a spin by Kevin Olson forced another caution and Shuman regained the position on the restart.

The Shuman-Kaeding battle lasted until seven laps to go when Shuman blasted off the cushion to regain the spot, which held to the checker.

Jimmy Sills passed Dean Erfurth on the 14th lap and won the first 20-lap B feature by six car lengths. Aaron Berryhill, Tony Stewart and Jack Hewitt completed the top five.

Andy Hillenburg, who had problems on his qualifying night, also suffered a DNF when he was involved in a tangle with Jay Drake, Gary Howard and Mike Streicher.

The second B feature was won by Dick Kaiser, who took the lead from Randy Roberts before a lap was completed. The race proved to be a wild one as Gene Gennetten, riding in the final transfer spot, on the 18th lap of the 20-lap feature was hit by Page Jones with both cars flipping and out of the race. Lealand McSpadden was also sidelined in this crash. The drivers were not injured. Kevin Doty chased Kaiser across the line for second. Andy Pierce, Billy Boat and Don Lehmann transferred.

Bill Wilburn led flag-to-flag to win the first C feature over Jay Drake. 1992 NCRA Outlaw Sprint Car Champion, Terry Gray was third. Gary Cameron flipped in turn three for the only red of the event. He was not injured.

Stan Fox took the lead from Keith Rauch going down the backstretch on the first lap of the second 15-lap B feature and beat Don Lehmann by a quarter lap at the checker.

Flea Ruzic won the first D feature after early leader Bob Thoman spun on the final lap. Gary Cameron took second to gain the final transfer spot to the C feature.

Tom Eatwell, who flipped in his heat Thursday night, came back to win the second D feature over Danny Frye.

The eight-lap Fram Dash was won by Chili Bowl Rookie, Tony Stewart who led flag to flag. Danny Lasoski took second from Kenny Irwin on the fifth lap with Andy Hillenburg coming home third at the checker. Irwin and Dave Blaney filled the five.

The summary:

Feature (50 laps):

  1. Dave Blaney;
  2. Ron Shuman;
  3. Brent Kaeding;
  4. Kevin Doty;
  5. Dean Erfurth;
  6. Scott Hatton;
  7. Jack Hewitt;
  8. Danny Lasoski;
  9. Dan Boorse;
  10. Sammy Swindell;
  11. Steve Knepper;
  12. Aaron Berryhill;
  13. Tony Stewart;
  14. Billy Boat;
  15. Kevin Olson;
  16. Dick Kaiser;
  17. Andy Pierce;
  18. Shane Carson;
  19. Tommie Estes, Jr.;
  20. Jimmy Sills.

Thursday Night Preliminary: Dave Blaney

Friday Night Preliminary: Kenny Schrader

Posted by on Dec 24 2010 Filed under Chili Bowl History, Featured, Racing History. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!