Howard Crowned Grandview Champ

GILBERTSVILLE, Pa. — Three champions were honored during the Grandview Speedway 50th anniversary awards banquet on Saturday night.

For the fifth time in his impressive career Duane Howard took home the top honors in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series 358 Modified championship battle while Chuck Schutz was tops in the Late Model division for the first time and Jared Umbenhauer took the honors in the new Sportsman division.

More than 500 people filled the Gilbertsville Fire Co. Social Hall to see the top 20 drivers and top ten owners in each of the three divisions receive there awards and there was a variety of special awards presented during the evening that was MC’d by track announcer Ernie Saxton.

Thousands of dollars in point fund money was paid out to top performers with Duane Howard and his car owner going home with more than $10,000 for their championship winning efforts with the 358 Modifieds. Howard (Oley) tallied 5,514 points and nine feature wins on the way to the title. Doug Man miller (Shoemakersville) finished second with 4,890 counters and two wins while Craig VonDohren earned third with 4,573 points despite not being able to get a feature win.

Jeff Strunk, winner of the $50,000 to win BPG Racing Freedom 76, finished fourth in the standings for the Modifieds.

Howard and his wife will be guests of the track owners, Bruce and Theresa Rogers, on a nine day Caribbean cruise along with more than 90 others who have ties to the NASCAR sanctioned track. The 2011 track champion Jeff Strunk and his guest will also be on the cruise as part of the reward for winning that title.

Chuck Schutz (Pottstown) and his car owner, Ty Zeigler, earned a sixth late model championship with consistent performances and two feature wins that gave them 5,225 points to top second place Danny Snyder (Green Lane) who tallied 4,864 points and three feature wins. Veteran racer Ron Kline (Salford) came home third with two wins and 4,766 points.

In the new sportsman division Jared Umbenhauer (Richland) was able to gain the inaugural season title with 4,604 counters and a feature win topping Brad Bright bill (Sinking Spring) 4,452 counters and Craig Whitmoyer (Hamburg) 4,155 points.

Several special appreciation awards were given to a number of media and supporters with special awards going to BPG Racing and Pioneer Pole Buildings for their support of two major events at the speedway. It was also announced that BPG Racing will again return as the sponsor of the BPG Racing Freedom 76 Classic.

T.P. Trailers of Limerick was thanked for their outstanding support during 2012 with the bonus cash awards going to feature winners in each division throughout the season. The Perkins family, operators of T.P. Trailers, announced that they will return for a second year with their cash awards and that news was received by enthusiastic applause from the audience.

Fred Woodward, representing the American Racer Tire Cup Championship Series, handed out checks and awards totaling more than $20,000 with Duane Howard taking home more than $15,000 for winning the title. Doug Manmiller, Jeff Strunk, Craig VonDohren and Mike Gular collected more than $5,000 in awards between them for their efforts in the American Racer events.



Posted by on Nov 18 2012 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!