It’s All Stoyer At Linda’s Speedway

JONESTOWN, Pa. – Josh Stoyer was second-fastest in 270 Sprints qualifying on Friday at Linda’s Speedway, but in first when it mattered.

Scott Gingrich won the dash race to start on the pole of the feature. Steve Dunmire started second.

Gingrich led early with Dunmire pressuring before a yellow flag for a slowing car on the backstretch. Durmire caught Gingrich’s car and spun as well coming to a stop. Dunmire dropped to the tail leaving Stoyer on Gingrich’s rear bumper for the restart. Stoyer made a daring move around the outside of Gingrich on the restart to take the race lead away for good. Stoyer crossed one second ahead of the battle between Jarid Kunkle and Gingrich for second.

Kunkle got second, Gingrich third, Kyle Weiss, and Logan Diehl from 12th made up the top five.

The Modifieds closed out their second annual Poker Series Friday night. Richie Hitzler and Ryan Higgs both had a chance to win the series. Hitzler’s night started well with a heat win and Jason Dunkleberger won the second heat. Jon Pepe led the green to checkered flag main event.

The race to watch was for second. A four car battle between Michael Burrows, Dunkleberger, Aaron Bowes, and Hitzler. Burrows held on for the spot over Dunklerber, Bowes, and Hitzler. Hitzler’s fifth place finish was enough to lock down the Poker Series with two pair made up of Kings and Queens.

Chad Zornek, Brad Stevens, Joe Carter, Charles Bowers, and RJ Smith locked down top ten finishing spots. The Modifieds return to action next week in a tour event. Can the Linda’s Speedway regulars defend the home turf?

The Charger main event quickly became a race of nutrition with only seven cars finishing. Rich Bossinger shot to the race lead and led every lap on the way to his second win of the season. Bossinger was pressured for the whole race by his teammate Leroy Long who got close but was never able to make the pass.

Long finished second, Justin Good made a triumphant return to finish third, Jasen Geesaman was fourth, and Josh Michael earned the hard charger coming from 15th to finish fifth. Kevin McCallin, Brian Derr, Dave Reightler, Austin Brown, and Troy Hostetter were the top ten finishers. Heat races for the Chargers were won by Leroy Long, Butch Helsel, and Rich Bossinger.

Tyler Walton has had a string of bad luck this season at Linda’s Speedway in the Hoosier Tire 600 Sprints. He turned that around Friday from his pole starting spot taking his 85th career win and his first of the season at Linda’s Speedway.

Walton and Stoltzfus shared row one after winning heat races. Walton got the better start and took Jason Swavely and Steve Whary with him. Walton got away while Whary pressured Swavely for the runner up spot.

Timmie Barrick closed in on Whary but couldn’t make the pass for fourth.

The finish:

Josh Stoyer, Jarid Kunkle, Scott Gingrich, Kyle Weiss, Logan Diehl, Richie Hartman, Jason Swavely, Greg Milller, Brandon Heist, Dave Hawkins, Kenny Miller, Dave Williams, Brandon Hawkins, Steve Dunmire, Mike Rutherford, Jonathan John, Lyle Strohman, Michael Sherman, Brandon Edgar, Josh Schaffer, Brent Shearer, Greg Robinson, TJ Greve, Mike Rice

Posted by on Aug 9 2014 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!