Kendall’s Night At Trail-Way

HANOVER, Pa. – It was Robbie Kendall’s night at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

Kendall started on the pole and drove away from the field in the 25-lap 358 sprint car feature, crossing under the checkered flag less than a half-second off the track record in a non-stop time of 6 minutes, 4.47 seconds for his third win of the year at the McSherrystown oval.

“These guys had this thing hooked up tonight,” said Kendall in victory lane. “We tore cars up the last two times out, and it’s just a pleasure to finish one.”

The Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown night feature saw Kendall and Ryan Wilson start on the front row. Kendall grabbed the lead at the outset and never looked back.

“We caught lapped cars at the right time tonight,” said Kendall.

And lapped cars there were, with only six of the 16 sprinters finishing on the lead lap.

Wilson ran second until slipping in turns one and two and losing the runner-up spot to third-starting Dwight Leppo, who finished a career-best second at the finish. Four-time winner and Trail-Way points leader Brad McClelland started sixth and was challenging Leppo for second when he dove into the infield on lap 21.

That put Wilson back in third, and that’s where he finished, with Jeff Rohrbaugh crossing fourth in the Shane Smith #00 and last week’s winner Isaac Sneeringer rounding out the top five. The other car on the lead lap was Seth Kearchner.

Heats for the 358 sprint cars were won by McClelland and Sneeringer.

Dan Furman raced to his third win of the year in the 20-lap street stock feature. Furman started seventh and took the lead from outside front row starter David Johnson on lap four.

Last week’s winner Michael Goodwin started last in the 11-car field and caught Larry Landis for second on the ninth lap. Pat McClane moved past Landis for third on the same lap, but then lost an axle and wheel on lap 16, handing the spot back over to Landis, who held the spot the rest of the way.

Fourth and fifth were ninth-starting Chad Stine and Joey Harrison. Qualifiers for the street stocks were won by Landis and Jeremy Stremmel.

Scott Rickrode started on the pole and led every lap of the 15-lap Penn-Mar Vintage Race Car Club’s Scott Coghill Memorial. Curt Neiman, Rick Pastor, Pete Cobb, and Mark Rickrode rounded out the top five.

It was a perfect night for Rickrode, who also won the lone qualifier for the eight vintage cars.

Brothers Jason and Matt Chronister finished first and second in the 15-lap limited stock feature. It was Jason’s first win of the year. He started sixth and took the lead from outside front row starter Justin Oberlin on lap three. Brother Matt started 12th and took second from Cody Klinedinst on the next-to-last lap. Klinedinst, with heavy smoke pouring from the car, faded to fifth at the end.

Ricky Weaver Jr. crossed third, with Tom Senseney Jr. fourth. Heats for the 18 limited stocks were won by Senseney and Aaron Levin.

Posted by on Jul 5 2014 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!