Local Boy Cisney Tames Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Hometown boy Dylan Cisney won the first 410-sprint car race of his career anywhere Saturday night at his home track of Port Royal Speedway, showing finesse and skill to thwart the attacks of Doug Esh for the $3,000 victory.

Matt Parks overtook Eric Zembower to win his third feature event of the season in the 20-lap late model main while Jeff Miller Jr. took the win after a spirited battle with Logan Wagner in the 305-sprint feature event.

Cisney started on the pole of the 25-lap 410 sprint feature and allowed second-starter Joey Hershey to lead only the first circuit before he took control.

The first 21 laps of the feature went non-stop with Cisney entering the backmarkers on the seventh tour being chased by Blane Heimbach, Esh and Chad Layton.

Heimbach, who started fourth in the field, gave considerable chase of Cisney early in the event as the pair pulled away from their closest pursuers for several laps.

It wasn’’t until the high-speed train at the front began working lapped traffic that Esh and Layton began to close in for the top spots and Esh overtook Heimbach for second with 11 laps in the book.

The Lancaster pilot drove Cisney down during the ensuing laps and with 10 to go found himself to the leader’s inside in the first and second turns with an attack for control.

But Cisney just rolled the top a little harder once Esh gave notice that he was there and after stuffing his No. 5 back to Esh’s outside while racing through the second turn he drove back out in front of Esh on the back chute.

And then the leader admittedly turned the wick up and was ready to take his checkers with four laps to go when the races one and only break occurred for a hard second turn flip by Dan Shetler.

With a lapped car separating himself from Esh and Layton for the restart, Cisney jetted away when green reappeared and picked up the popular victory by 1.190 seconds over two-time 2013 winner Esh.

Layton rode home third followed by Heimbach and Hershey.

The first eight starters in the feature were offered a $1,000 bonus if they had elected to start at the rear of the 20-car field and could come back for a finish inside the top three as part of Bob Collins Non-Qualifiers night at the track.

None of the top eight starters elected to take the challenge and instead the money was distributed to all 20 racers in the field.

Zembower and Derek Casner started the late model main on the front row and led the first lap before Parks took over from the fourth starting spot.

Posted by on Jun 16 2013 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!