McClelland Sails At Trail-Way

From there, McClelland’s drive was interrupted only when Kendall, Zach Eucolano and points leader Jeff Rohrbaugh were involved in an incident in the second turn in which the cars of both Kendall and Rohrbaugh spun. But McClelland then drove away to win by 1.62 seconds over Hogue, who passed Trone on the final lap.

Hoff placed fourth ahead of Cris Eash, Tim Wagaman II, Rohrbaugh, Eucolano, Kendall and Randy Whisler.

In the Precise 358 Limited Late Model Series feature, Dover’s Gene Knaub drew the pole after he and Tyler Armstrong won heat races. Knaub used the position to drive off and lead every lap of the 25-lap race.

Knaub’s path was slowed by five caution flags. They included a 12th-lap caution waved when series points leader Grant Adams stopped in the second corner and a 21st-lap yellow flag when the car of Matt Adams caught fire in the third turn. Adams exited his car without injury.

Knaub beat runner-up Travis Mease by 1.2 seconds for his track-leading 12th career feature win. Cam Zeigler placed third ahead of Armstrong and Billy Wampler. Tyler Horst, who started 14th in the 15-car field, drove to eighth place for the Hard Charger Award.

In the 600cc micro sprint feature, Dover’s Brad Weber, who took his heat, started sixth and grabbed the top spot from Troy Rhome on the 10th lap. That happened before the No. 8 car of Johnstown’s Jim Young, which also won its qualifier, hit the backstretch wall hard and rolled several times on the 12th lap to bring out the red flag. Young escaped injury.

From there, Weber was all alone, eventually beating David Holbrook by 4.4 seconds for his second win at Trail-Way this season. Shawn Seifert placed third ahead of Tyler Esh and Bo Gordon Jr.

In the Classic Racing Series classic car feature, the front row of heat winners Matt Wallace and Roland Brown quickly turned the 20-lap feature into a two-car battle. Brown, of Manchester, Md., got the jump at the start and narrowly held off the series’ point leader and defending champion over the entire distance in a non-stop feature.

Pete Neal placed third as he won a three-car duel with fourth-place finisher Mike Zeigler Jr. and fifth-place driver Neal Reamer.

Posted by on Jun 15 2013 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!