Rogers Memorial Goes To Johnson

Danny Johnson held off all comers on Saturday. (Rich Kepner photo)

Danny Johnson held off all comers on Saturday. (Rich Kepner photo)

BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. – Danny Johnson  invaded the 1/3-mile high banks of Grandview Speedway on Saturday night  in the 50-lap 44th Annual Forrest Rogers Memorial presented by Pioneer Pole Buildings, featuring the NASCAR 358 Modifieds.

A big surprise of the night was Guy Germano being able to end the six race win streak of point leader Jared Umbenhauer in the 25-lap Sportsman feature earning his first win of the season. In the 25-lap feature for BRC Late Models Randy Stoudt came home first for the fifth time this season.

Johnson gained the top spot on the 37th lap restart with Duane Howard, the defending race winner, trying hard to regain the lead.

Coming in for the checkered flag Johnson got trapped behind lapped cars and Howard, coming with a full head of steam, almost passed him for the win. Fate wouldn’t have it that way since Johnson held on for the victory with Howard on his tailpipe in the 50-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Modified feature. After an almost 90-minute wait until he cleared “tech” since his engine wasn’t sealed as they are for the regular competitors he received the $10,000 top prize money.

Randy Stoudt, the current Late Model point leader, was victorious for the fifth time when he won his 62nd career feature in the 25-lap BRC Late Model feature.

Guy Germano hadn’t been to victory lane since Aug. 11, 2012, but he changed that when he held off Mike Lisowski’s bids to win his first 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature of the season.

Germano led for four laps before Lisowski passed him and started to pull away. By the ninth lap Germano was reeling Lisowski in with Craig Whitmoyer, Ryan Lilick and Jordan Henn in tow.

The finish:

Danny Johnson, Duane Howard, Jeff Strunk, Doug Manmiller, Craig VonDohren, Kyle Weiss, Mike Laise, Nate Christman, Don Norris Jr., Kevin Hartnett, Ryan Grim, Meme DeSantis, Ray Swinehart, Todd Smith, Kyle Borror, Chris Esposito, Brian Houseknecht, Tim Buckwalter, Brian Kressley, Terry Meitzler, Mike Gula, Jordan Umbenhauer, Tommy Scheetz III, Frank Cozze, Jon Kellner, Kevin Hirthler, John Willman, Mike Kellner

Posted by on Aug 10 2014 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!