Rohrbaugh Masters Trail-Way Foes

HANOVER, Pa. – The top two feature winners in Trail-Way Speedway’s 358 sprint history have turned the Adams County oval into a personal duel this season.

On a chilly Friday night, that even extended to the pill draw for the Insinger Fuels 358 Sprint Spring Championship.

“They made it easy on me,” Jeff Rohrbaugh said about his selection of the pole position for the start after he won the 25-lap feature and earned the season’s largest winner’s share so far, $1,200. “Cris (Eash) was giving me heck there because I drew number one. I was like, ‘There were eight guys who drew before me.’”

However, Brad McClelland, who owns the all-time feature lead in the division with 27 triumphs, drew the outside pole, setting up a race-long dash which ended with McClelland trailing the 26-time feature winner by .062 second at the finish.

“I’d seen him run her in there,” Rohrbaugh said about McClelland’s closest approach on the 15th lap. “I was like, ‘He’s probably carrying too much speed because the racetrack was real tricky.’ And he’ll probably tell you the same thing. It’s almost like you’re racing on Lestoil.”

The field of 16 cars suffered an aborted start when four cars tangled in the second turn of the opening lap. The victims included Hanover’s Tim Wagaman, whose car stalled during warm-up laps and had to start at the rear of the feature. Wagaman’s front wing was damaged and his crew removed it, setting up his eventual charge to a fifth-place finish.

Posted by on May 25 2013 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!