Smith Stars In Selinsgrove Sprint

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Mark Smith powered to a convincing win in Saturday night’s 25-lap Mach 1 Chassis Empire Super Sprint (ESS) 360 sprint car feature over defending champion Jason Shultz.

The $3,000 win was Smith’s third of the season and eighth career in 358-360 sprint car competition at the track.

The race was marred by a serious crash on lap three involving three drivers at the end of the backstretch. Duane Mausteller and Jamie Collard were transported to the Geisinger Medical Center in Danville with undisclosed injuries. Also involved in the incident was Shawn Donath, who escaped injury.

Jeff Rine returned to Victory Lane for his second win of the season in the 25-lap late model feature. The win also marked Rine’s second of the weekend, having picked up the win Friday night at the Bedford Speedway, and 87th career at Selinsgrove.

Kyle Bachman drove to his first win of the season in the 15-lap pro stock feature, while defending champion Brian Johnson of Ashland won his second 12-lap roadrunner race.

Outside front row starter T.J. Stutts took the lead at the start of the sprint car feature and was chased by fourth-place starter Cody Keller. The race was halted on the third circuit for a backstretch crash involving eighth-place starter Jamie Collard, 10th-place starter Shawn Donath, and 18th-place starter Duane Mausteller. Mausteller was air-lifted to the Geisinger Medical Center in Danville and Collard was transported by ambulance with undisclosed injuries. Donath was not injured in the crash.

When the race resumed, Stutts continued to lead over Keller, seventh-place starter Mark Smith, 12th-place starter Pat Cannon, and sixth-place starter Jason Barney. On a lap 10 restart, Smith and Cannon drove by Keller for the second and third positions. Stutts and Smith then dueled for the lead only to make contact on the frontstretch, which sent Stutts into a wild spin into the first turn.

On the lap 12 retart, 14th-place starter Jason Shultz showed a lot of speed and stormed into second. Shultz and Cannon then dueled for the position while Keller remained a close fourth. With five laps remaining, Keller took third away from Cannon. At the finish, Smith was victorious by 2.2 seconds over Shultz, Keller, Cannon, and 17th-place starter Steve Poirier.

Second-place starter Dave Zona powered into the lead at the start of the late model feature over polesitter Tim Wilson and sixth-place starter Jim Bernheisel. On the fourth circuit, seventh-place starter Jeff Rine advanced to the fourth position.

The caution flag unfurled on lap nine when Jim Yoder’s car rolled to a stop in turn four. On the lap 10 restart, Bernheisel passed Wilson for the runner up spot. Wilson, however, stopped in turn two on the next lap. A multi-car pileup unfolded in turn four on lap 12; all drivers escaped injury. Then Bernheisel dropped out of the race on the restart.

With 10 laps to go, Zona was leading Rine, ninth-place starter Bryan Bernheisel, and 10th-place starter Andy Haus. Rine made the winning pass using the outside lane coming off turn on the 18th lap. He went on to win the race by five seconds over Zona, B. Bernheisel, Haus, and 11th-place starter Steve Campbell.

Polesitter Kyle Bachman wired the field for his first win of the season in the pro stock feature. Bachman was chased by second-place starter Jake Buck and third-place starter Adam Campbell. Campbell took over second for several laps. The race saw a caution flag on lap five when Nathan Long’s car rolled to a stop.

When the race resumed, Bachman stretched his lead over the field. In the final laps of the race, three-time winner and 11th-place starter Brad Mitch made a last-ditch effort to catch Bachman and keep his winning streak alive. At the finish, Bachman was victorious by 2.6 seconds over Mitch, Campbell, Buck, and Andrew Shoop.

Polesitter Brandon Shultz led the first two laps of the roadrunner feature. Sixth-place starter John Fowler Jr. took over the lead on lap three and also led for two laps. Eighth-place starter Keith Bissinger kept his racer at the front of the pack through lap eight, when fifth-place starter Brian Johnson made the winning pass. Johnson was victorious over Bissinger, Fowler, Butch Shaffer, and Ed Capper.

Posted by on May 18 2014 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!