Waltz Stays Hot At Langley

HAMPTON, Va. – Matt Waltz moved out front on lap 67 and sailed to his 10th win of the season in the Reinhart Foodservice 150 for the ComServe/Verizon Wireless Late Model Stock Cars, the headlining event of Saturday evening’s action at Langley Speedway.

Division leader Greg Edwards started on the pole, at 88.758 mph, and took the lead on the opening circuit.

Closing in on lap 100, Waltz finally gained the clear-cut edge over Edwards and began to pull away.
By the finish, Waltz had extended his winning margin to nearly a full straightaway.

Edwards was second to the line, while Nick Smith, Brenden Queen and Mark Wertz rounded out the top five.

Brandon Hinson led from pole to checkers for his second victory of the season in the 40-lap Pepsi Grand Stock feature.

Rodney Boyd swiped second from Tommy Sweeney on lap 31 and tailed Hinson to the stripe, finishing nearly half a straightaway back.
Sweeney was third, while Mark Frye came home in fourth. Jamie Sample edged Carl Livingston to take fifth.

Steve Williams assumed the lead on lap 20 and showed the way to his first win in the 30-lap KeesVacations.com Pro Six race.

Travis Wall was half a straightaway behind, in second, followed by Landon Florian, who led laps 15-19 before a tangle with Bobby Hall forced him to rally from the back of the pack.

J.B. Sipe and Hall were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Tommy Jackson Jr. took the lead on lap 16 and rolled to his third win in the 25-lap Cycle City Corp. INEX Legends race.

Brian May, who led laps 1-15 from the pole, was second, holding off Spencer Saunders in the closing circuits.

Brandon Gdovic and Chris Hildebrand were fourth and fifth, in that order, at the finish.

Devon Courtney started on the pole and wired the field for his third victory in a 15-lapper for the East Coast Synthetics INEX Bandoleros.

D.J. Elzey was the runner-up, a car-length behind the winner. Bradley Kilby, Elysia Potter and Zach Lightfoot tailed the lead duo to the finish.

Matthew Leach led 19 of 20 laps for his first win in the Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Kart feature.
Harry Leach was second, a kart-length back at the checkers, followed by Charlie-Ray Lorah, who nosed out front to lead lap 7.

Amanda Frye and Ryan Hudgins completed the top five.

The finish:

Matt Waltz, Greg Edwards, Nick Smith, Brenden Queen, Mark Wertz, Michael Hardin, Casey Wyatt, Justin Carroll, Duane Shreeves, Connor Hall, Terry Carroll, Danny Edwards Jr, Robert Bruce, Evan Horne, Tommy Spencer

Posted by on Aug 16 2014 Filed under MID-ATLANTIC, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!