Boespflug Rules Gas City Sprint

Chad Boespflug won Friday's non-wing sprint-car event at Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski Photo)

Chad Boespflug won Friday’s non-wing sprint-car event at Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski Photo)

GAS CITY, Ind. — Chad Boespflug came home the winner of the 25-lap feature race for non-wing sprint cars at Gas City I-69 Speedway Friday night.

Holding off the challenges from the likes of Josh Spencer, Jerry Coons Jr. and A.J. Hopkins, the 26-year-old California native kept his Paul Hazen-owned sprinter in the lead as the checkered flag fell, picking up his second victory in as many recent outings.  The Boespflug/Hazen combination won at Indiana’s Plymouth Speedway on Wednesday night.

The quarter-mile dirt Gas City oval saw Boespflug defeat a late-charging Robert Ballou and Coons, who was the evening’s fastest qualifier.  Hopkins, Scotty Weir and Spencer rounded out the top six.

The B main was won by Kyle Simon, who finished ahead of Conner Donelson and Tyler Hewitt.  Heat race wins went to Ballou, Travis Welpott, Hopkins and Logan Jarrett.

Randy Lines was the winner of the modified feature race.  Derek Losh finished second followed by Bill Lewis, Bub Roberts, Andy Bishop and Jim Mallery.  Modified heat race wins were claimed by Losh and Zeke McKenzie.  Ervin Turner won the Thunder Car main event.

Posted by on Jun 28 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!