Eldora Recognizes 2012 Champions

ROSSBURG, Ohio – A capacity crowd of drivers, owners, race teams and fans joined track owner Tony Stewart Saturday evening in the Eldora Ballroom to celebrate 2012 season championship titles captured by Jeep VanWormer (Late Models), Joey Kramer (UMP DIRTcar Modifieds), Barney Craig (Stock Cars) and Brian Ruhlman (Sunoco American Late Model Series).

As Stewart distributed the accolades he was quick to assure the fans that his love for short track racing, and the participants that make it happen, will never fade. While on stage with Eldora founder Earl Baltes, Stewart shared that, “Earl and Berneice set the bar with the Eldora experience. My challenge is to maintain, and expand, those same standards that fans and race teams have come to expect of Eldora.”

The Eldora stage was kept busy all night, as Stewart and Eldora promoter Roger Slack distributed hardware to not only the champions and the remainder of the top 15 in each division, but a host of specialty awards as well.

Diana Kellen, daughter of Chick Hale, was in attendance to reward the speedway’s highest honor, the Sportsman of the Year trophy named in her father’s honor, to Alan Phillippi.

Recognized as the Rookie of the Year in their respective divisions were Justin Coulter (Late Model), Evan Taylor (Modified) and Ricky Ray Dillon (Stock Car), while Most Improved Driver honors were bestowed upon Bill Lewis (Late Model), Ryan Sutter (Modified) and Adam Schaeff (Stock Car).

John Brooks entertained the massive crowd with whimsical quips about the rugged season that earned him the Hard Luck award in the Modified division. Ryan VanderVeen was named the Hard Luck recipient in the Late Model division, while similar honors were bestowed upon Eric Sandlin in the Stock Car ranks.

Rewarded with the Best Appearing Car trophies were Andrew Reaume (Late Models), Shane Unger (Modifieds) and Casey Barr (Stock Cars).

Dave Chamberlain was emotional upon being named Mechanic of the Year, while Rick DeLong was equally humbled with his Car Owner of the Year honor. Berneice Baltes received a rousing ovation when named Woman of the Year, while Clyde Bateman was grateful in his acceptance of the Joe Mercer Fan of the Year tribute.

Posted by on Jan 20 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!