Havel Backs $1,000 At Thunderhill

(STURGEON BAY, Wis. – Shawn Havel snatched $1,000 and a feature win away from Troy Muench and Ben Kroll late in the going of the IMCA Stock Car main event at Thunderhill Raceway.

The victory earned Havel a special Kim Parsons Memorial Trophy along with the his biggest payday of his career . Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Josh Massart (IMCA Sport Mod), Scott Boulanger (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Keith Kickbusch (Street Stock). Quietwoods RV Sales & Service provided a wild Trailer Race of Destruction.

The stakes were high when the 17 car starting field of IMCA Stock Cars rolled out. All drivers knew at the end of the 25 lap feature a $1,000 payday was waiting for the winner. Ben Kroll wheeled his White Lightening Chassis to lead in the opening laps. Troy Muench was the first to put the pressure on Kroll for the top spot. Muench was then able to work inside Kroll taking the lead on lap 10. Even with the lead Muench was unable to shake Kroll at the midway point of the contest.

With Muench and Kroll arguing for the same real-estate, Shawn Havel raced to third on the high side. As laps clicked away Havel inched closer and closer to the outside of Kroll for second. With a handful of laps remaining Kroll knew it was go time and he began to muscle his way inside of Muench. Every time Kroll tangled with Muench, Havel gained more ground.

With two laps remaining Havel took the lead but Muench rallied back pulling even with Havel down the backstretch on the final lap. With the checkers coming down it was Havel taking the win and the money by half a car length over Muench. Kroll was third, Dave Bouche and Bret Koehler completed the top five.

Todd Dart joined Havel at the pay window scoring a $1,000 victory in the IMCA Modifieds.

The modified main brought some heavy hitters out for the extra cash that included 2 former IMCA National Champions and several multi-time track champions. As Leddy dropped the green Rookie Greg Gretz raced past Eric Arneson and to the lead. Gretz winner of the last two features looked tough early on.

Dart quickly slid into the runner up position, reeled in Gretz and took the lead away on lap 9. Laps later Gretz suffered mechanical woes ending his night. Dart ran unopposed the remainder of the contest earning his first feature win of the year. Dart is four feature wins shy of the big “50” at Thunderhill. James Tebon, Dan Ratajczak, Jared Siefert and Tyler Hackett rounded out the top five. The 25 lap contest went green to checker.

Josh Massart took the lead away from Martin Kelsey on lap three and survived a series of cautions to win his first ever IMCA Sport Mod feature. Kelsey lost a power plant while running fourth ending his night. With a second place finish Randy LeMieux Jr. sits just 1 point behind point leader Bernie Reinhardt who was third, Dennis Miesler and Rookie Jacob Zellner completed the top five.

In IMCA Hobby Stock action Scott Boulanger took the lead away from CJ Weckler on lap 2 and never looked back racing to his 5th feature win of the season. Joe Hegnet scored second, point leader Derek Moede was third, Rookie Dan Van Pay was fourth and second generation racer Cody Junio had his best career finish with fifth.

Street Stock point leader Keith Kickbusch outlasted Billy LeMieux to win his 3rd feature of the season. LeMieux raced door to door with Kickbusch the entire 15 laps but had to settle for second. Marcus Moede rallied late to nab third.

Posted by on Jul 28 2013 Filed under MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!