Koehler Leads Thunderhill Opening Night Winners

STURGEON BAY, Wis. – Track conditions could not have been any better for the first night of the season at Thunderhill Raceway as drivers raced two and three wide all while battling for the win on opening night.

Hardcore fans braved the cold and were warmed by hot action on the track.

Bret Koehler fought off Shawn Havel late to score his first trophy of the season in the IMCA Stock Cars.  Koehler received the best of luck drawing the pole position for the IMCA Stock Car main. Koehler got the jump over Jamie Suchocki and began to pull away early with Dylan Heilman and Tom Brumlic giving chase.

Brumlic found the high groove and began chopping away at Koehler’s lead. Brumlic then pulled along side Koehler and took the lead away with eight laps remaining. Koehler fought back down low regaining the top spot two laps later. A caution flew for Billy LeMieux after he caught an infield tire that ripped the front wheel off his machine which ended his night.

Shawn Havel used the 3 lap dash to checker to his advantage taking second away from Brumlic. Havel charged to the back bumper of Koehler but it wasn’t enough and Koehler collected the win. Havel was second, followed by Brumlic, defending champion Dave Bouche and Dylan Heilman was fifth.

Other feature winners were Troy Jerovetz (IMCA modified), Randy LeMieux Jr. (IMCA sport mod), Jeremy Jauquet (IMCA hobby stock) and Billy LeMieux (street stock).

Posted by on May 18 2014 Filed under MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!