Martin Claims Double X Finale

Randy Martin won Sunday's sprint-car finale at Double X Speedway in Missouri. (Double X Speedway Photo)

Randy Martin won Sunday’s sprint-car finale at Double X Speedway in Missouri. (Double X Speedway Photo)

CALIFORNIA, Mo. – Randy Martin held off all challengers to win Sunday’s season ending sprint-car feature at Double X Speedway.

Sunday night Martin was not to be denied as he earned the pole position for the feature event by having a strong run in his qualifying heat. Leading the field to the green flag along with fellow heat winner Corey Nelson on the outside of row one and traveling veteran Mitchell Moore winner of heat three starting right behind him, Martin was able to take the lead on lap one and hold off the strong challenges behind him to secure the victory.

Using all of the grooves on the racing surface Martin held off the early challenges of Nelson, who was running a strong second for many laps until he was passed by another veteran of many seasons at Double X, Lanny Carpenter. Carpenter made a strong run to claim second at the checkered flag.

Young Nelson finished third with rookie Ricky Stangl claiming fourth. Fifth place went to Kyle Bellm, Mitchell Moore was sixth, California driver Tyler Blank, eighth went to T.J. Muths, ninth was Curtis Boyer and 10th went to first time sprint car competitor Kameron Key.

The Street Stock division saw veteran John Clancy claim the victory over another driver very familiar with the clay at Double X, Steve Beach. First year driver Cole Henson finished a solid third with Dylan Bias and Blake Davidson rounding out the top five.

It was a stellar night for Gage Wineland as he picked up the win in the Hobby Stock feature. After starting sixth on the grid Wineland moved past early leader Will Register on lap three and did not look back in claiming the victory. Register ran a strong second after holding off first year driver Eddie Lavery III. Chuck Coffey was fourth and Cole Canada crossed the strip in fifth.

The 600cc Micro Sprints were on hand to fill out the card for the final event of the season and it was Mile Paulus standing tall in victory lane. Paulus led form the outset and was followed under the checker by Nick Schaefer, Scott Hathman, Quinton Benson and Ayrton Gennetten in the top five.

Posted by on Aug 4 2014 Filed under MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!