Needles Gets What He Deserves At Toledo

TOLEDO, Ohio – After having victory elude him at Toledo Speedway, Steve Needles finally got the win he deserved and did it in dominating fashion, sailing to the victory in the Parts Galore 100 for the ARCA Glass City Gold Cup Late Model Series Friday night.

Howard Kelley Jr. and Robbie Loving continued their win streaks by taking their feature events on a perfect night for racing.

Scott Hantz powered into the lead on the green flag of the 100 lap Late Model feature, but Needles was right there and took the top spot on lap eight. Harold Fair Jr. began his march to the front, moving to third and then second by lap 12. As Needles zipped along, the first yellow came out on lap 53 for debris.

On the restart, Needles got out front again, but the yellow appeared on lap 56 when Scott Pemberton dropped oil, causing Fair Jr., Hantz, Dakota Carlson and Dennis Strickland to spin. A lengthy cleanup stopped the action. On the restart Fair had something for the leader as he dove under Needles in turn three, briefly taking the lead, but the yellow erased that move when Brent Jack spun on lap 59. When racing resumed, Steve took off as he zoomed away to his first Toledo victory of his career.

Fair Jr. and Strickland traded second spot in the final 10 laps, with Fair Jr. nailing down second, Strickland third, Jack came back to claim fourth and Jake Francis was fifth, followed by Mike Root, Hantz, Sam Coulter, Nick Bailey and Ron Allen. Carlson, Pemberton, JR Karl and Don St. Denis were next in line at the finish. Nick Grodi and Jason LaDuke scratched after practice. Jack set the fat time at 15:159.

Make it three in a row for Howard Kelley Jr. as he held back the charge of Jim Froling to win the 35-lap ARCA ACME Dismantling Sportsman feature race. Norm Lewallen led the first two laps until a big pileup in turn 2 on that second lap eliminated Ron Allen, Mike Young, Kent McCloskey, David Hinjosa and Dan Grigsby.

On the restart, Jeff Myers Jr. took the point and stayed there until Kelley Jr. motored into the lead on lap nine. Froling began to apply pressure with 15 laps to go and stayed within a car length or 2 of Howard, setting up a last lap challenge. The duo entered turn one on the white flag lap, as Kelley slid up, Froling tried to dive low but could not pull off the move as Kelley Jr. picked up his win. Froling, Greg Stilwell Jr., Kyle DeLisle Jr., Myers Jr., Lewallen, Kenny McKay Jr., David Frantz, Rich Abel and Chris Fitzpatrick completed the top ten. Young set the quick time at 17:226, while Allen took the four-car dash win. Kelley Jr. and McKay Jr. grabbed heat wins.

Not to be outdone, Robbie Loving made a slick move to get by race leader Dennis Whisman to grab the win, his fourth in a row, in the 20 lap ARCA Parts Galore Figure 8 feature event. Entering turn 1 of the Figure 8 track on lap six, Whisman went to the high side of a lapped car while Loving chose to go low, emerging with the lead and the eventual win. Whisman held on for second, Jerry Lee was third, Jeremy Vanderhoof fourth and Randy Roberts fifth, followed by Stephanie Bradley, Archie Padgett, Ian Jezylo and Dan Apperson. Vanderhoof captured the heat race win.

Posted by on Jul 13 2013 Filed under MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!