Slinger Nationals To Honor Dick Trickle

Dick Trickle after winning a 1983 All Pro late-model race. The 34th running of the Slinger Nationals will pay $9,999 to win in honor of the late racer. (NSSN Archives)

SLINGER, Wis. – The 34th annual Slinger Nationals will be honoring Dick Trickle, the man that helped to create the event that will take place on July 2.

Dick Trickle became a legend, regarded as “America’s Winningest Racer,” with an estimated 1,200 wins in his illustrious career. Trickle was a four-time champion of the event that he suggested then-promoter Wayne Erickson create back in 1980.

The winner’s payday will be a record $9,999, paying tribute to Dick Trickle who carried the familiar number 99 on his race cars. Starting pay for the main event will be $999.

Drivers from across the country have already started committing to the event, including one of the winningest short track racers on the west coast, Garrett Evans, who will be making the haul from Wenatchee, Wash. Steve Dorer, the 2012 Florida United Promoters Series Champion, will be visiting from Lakeland, Fla., and Ross Kenseth will make the trip from North Carolina.

“By increasing the purse to this level, we expect to have the biggest field in many years,” said new track co-owner Todd Thelen. “The $9,999 top prize is the biggest short-track payout in Wisconsin history and we expect to grab the attention of the very best in the country.”

Five time Slinger Nationals Champion Lowell Bennett will be on hand looking to add to his total along with three-time winner Rich Bickle Jr., and one-time winner Conrad Morgan.

Posted by on Jun 14 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, MIDWEST, Racing Nation, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!