Stinson Pockets Atomic Sprint Car Cash

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio – Jimmy Stinson, aboard the Jamie Miller-owned No. 6s, claimed the biggest win of the night at Atomic Speedway by capturing the┬áPine Tree Towing and Recovery 410 sprint car main.

Six of the night’s eight heat races went down to the wire, setting the stage for a quartet of barn-burning finishes in the fourth feature events. Even the kids put on a great show in the bicycle races and the festive Kid’ Night activities.

Ryan Broughton got the jump on Danny Smith at the start of the sprint-car feature and withstood the challenges of a stacked-field for the first 17 laps. In the early stages of the race, heat winner Ronnie Blair jumped the cushion was shuffled out of the top ten as was youngster Kory Crabtree. On lap four Smith suffered a similar fate and was shuffled back to fourth behind Broughton, Stinson, and Mitchell Harble.

Two laps later Smith again jumped the cushion and sailed off the turn two embankment. That set the stage for one of many spectacular drives up through the pack. Ryan Myers suffered a flat tire in the heat race after anchoring a transfer spot. The flat delegated him a spot in the b-main where he started 11th and blasted to fourth. That in turn pitted Myers in a 19th place starting spot that set the stage for a hard-charging 19th to fourth place run.

Meanwhile, Broughton continued to be the cream of the crop as the race leader. Mitchell Harble anchored a strong top three, the entire race while Aaron Higgins and Wes McGlumphy contended for a top five most of the race. Only late race charges from Myers and Smith would shield these drivers from top five runs. On the 17th circuit, Jordan Harble spun with the leaders taking evasive action.

Stinson in the Claxton Mopar/Kahne Maxim No. 6 drove hard into turn one and alongside Broughton. Side-by-side the two dueled into three where Stinson put the decisive slide job on the 22 car and sailed on to victory. Myers blasted into the top five and on the last lap Smith did the same with a barnstorming run past Higgins. Crabtree recovered to recover a top ten after his early bout with the cushion.

Rounding out the top ten were Stinson, Ryan Broughton, Mitchell Harble, Ryan Myers, Danny Smith, Aaron Higgins, Wes McGlumphy, Kory Crabtree, Todd Kane, and Mark Imler. The win was a clean sweep for Stinson who set fast time with an 11:491 and won the first heat.

“We had a great car and a great race track tonight,” said Stinson. “It was fast everywhere, a little choppy and bumpy for all of us in places, but an exciting track to race on. I’d like to thank my owner Jamie Miller for doing it all to get us here to victory.”

Kenny Johnson lived up to his namesake by holding off the challenges of e year in the Street Stock main after a torrid race-long battle with Adam Jones. One of the most competitive nights of racing in the history of Atomic Speedway concluded with a near photo finish as Bob Crace Jr. won a heated battle on a last lap pass against HarleK-C Burdette for a photo finish in the Advanced Services AMRA Octane Modified 20-lap main and Dean Boyd pulled off his fourth win of thy Martin to claim the C&M Racing Equipment Sport Mod main.

Posted by on May 18 2014 Filed under MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!