Vandermeersch Has Big Night At Macon

MACON, Ill. – A Springfield firefighter took home the big win during Miles Chevrolet Fireman’s Ball Saturday at Macon Speedway.

Dennis Vandermeersch, a well-known and long-time driver as well as multi-time track champion and Springfield Mile Sportsman Nationals champion, took the lead from Zach Rhodes and fought off Nick Macklin en route to the winner’s circle in Sportsman Topless 40 when the cars raced without a roof.

Danny Smith blew past Curt Rhodes and Guy Taylor to snag the checkered flag in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds. His racecar was locked into the bottom of the dirt track and took the win away from Rhodes, who had side-by-side racing with Taylor through the majority of the 20 laps.

Bobby Beiler once again reached victory lane and took home the $500 first place prize in the Big Ten Series Street Stock race. Terry Reed finished a distant second with Greg Osman third.

Dave Baugh was the feature winner in the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series, as open-wheel racing returned to Macon Speedway. Jeremy Reed returned from a broken arm to win in the Outlaw Hornets and Dean Holt snatched the win in the Stock Hornet class. B.J. Deal won his first B-Mod feature at Macon Speedway.

Dawn Reynolds charged through the field to win the Bud Light Ladies Night race among the gals from Starship Billiards. Holly Vinson was second. They both advanced to the Bud Light Ladies Night championship to join Jenny Cramer and Dana Damery of Rocco’s on Sept. 13. Woody’s (Aug. 9) and Pop’s Place (Aug. 30) will also compete to earn spots in the championship.

Posted by on Jul 13 2014 Filed under MIDWEST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!