Corliss Is First Repeat Thunder Road Winner

Jason Corliss acknowledges the crowd following his late model victory Thursday at Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl. (Alan Ward Photo)

Jason Corliss acknowledges the crowd following his late model victory Thursday at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl. (Alan Ward Photo)

BARRE, Vt. – Jason Corliss claimed his second career Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl Late Model win and became the first repeat winner in the division for 2014 during Safelite Auto Glass night on Thursday.

Corliss came from the ninth starting spot and got under Lt. Governor Phil Scott late in the 50 lap event to gain the lead and eventually the win.

Young Kyle Pembroke led early in the race until relinquishing the lead to Brett Gervais on a restart just past halfway. Gervais then held the lead until losing control on a lap 32 restart handing the lead to Scott. Corliss ran down Scott and took over the lead with under 15 to go. He cruised to the win over the final laps. Derrick O’Donnell also got by Scott to claim second. Kyle Pembroke took fourth and Eric Badore completed the top five.

Nick Sweet, Scott Dragon, Dave Pembroke, Josh Demers and Joey Laquerre rounded out the top ten. The event saw just four cautions.

Dylan Payea earned his first Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen win of the season and the second of his career. He got by Darrell Morin to take the win and held of a hard charging Mike Martin on the only restart of the 35-lap event with two laps to go. Morin took second and Eric Johnson claimed third in the final two laps. Jeff Bousquet and Martin rounded out the top five. Point leader Jason Woodard, Chris Pelkey, Brendan Moodie, Cameron Ouellette and Mike Billado earned top tens.

Jaden Perry came from the tenth starting position to claim his first career Allen Lumber Street Stock win. He was followed across the line by his brother Jamon Perry and Garry Bashaw completing the podium. Tommy Smith and Kevin Dodge earned top fives followed by Jamie Davis, Gary Mullen, Donny Yates, Alan Maynard and Dave Whitcomb.

The LaForest brothers continued their winning ways in the Rough Rider division. This time Chris LaForest of Barre claimed the checkered. The driver’s ed teach Paul Dudley took second and Kevin LaForest came home third in the Milk Bowl style two segment event. Jamie Benneig, Chickey Stevens and Chris Sanborn rounded out the field.

Posted by on Jul 25 2014 Filed under NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!