Dragon Finds Thunder Road Victory Lane

BARRE, Vt. – Scott Dragon returned to Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl victory lane during the American Racer event on Thursday.

Dragon piloted his Richard Green ride to an uncontested win as the 50 lap late-model event went wire-to-wire caution free. It was Dragon’s second career Thunder Road late-model win with his last coming in May of 2003.

Dragon rocketed to the point from the outside pole and was followed by Jason Allen. The duo built a large lead over the remainder of the field as Ricky Roberts and rookie Josh Demers battled side-by-side for several laps. Roberts finally got the advantage late in the event and broke away for third. Joey Laquerre and Emily Packard followed to complete the top five. Demers slipped to sixth followed by Nick Sweet, Cody Blake, Derrick O’Donnell and John Donahue rounding out the top 10.

Darrell Morin became the second repeat winner of the 2014 season at Thunder Road. He got the advantage after a fierce battle with Eric Johnson for the lead. Morin gained the advantage just before halfway of the 35 lap event. Tucker Williams followed him by Johnson and began the chase for Morin.

Williams got to Morin’s back bumper with two to go but ran out of time to contest for the win. Brendan Moodie used the high lane to take third followed by point leader Jason Woodard and Joe Steffen completing the top five. Johnson faded to sixth followed by George May, Cameron Ouellette, Jeff Bousquet, and Christopher Pelkey rounding out the top 10 in the caution free event.

Jamie Davis became the first repeat winner at Thunder Road in 2014 when he claimed his second Allen Lumber Street Stock win of the season. He came from the 11th starting position and with the help of several early cautions, took over the lead before halfway. He held off a hard charging Garry Bashaw as they fought through lapped traffic late in the 25 lap event. Davis and Bashaw were followed across the line by Donnie Yates, Bunker Hodgdon and Jaden Perry. Kyle Streeter, Troy Kingsbury, Will Hennequin, Marcel Gravel and Alan Maynard completed the top 10.

The LaForest brothers made it 1-2 at the front of the Rough Rider finish. Kevin took first while Chris settled for second after the tie breaker in the two segment, lowest combined score event. Paul Dudley completed the podium.

Posted by on Jun 27 2014 Filed under NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!