Hornet 50 Is All Powers’

Chris Powers scored the victory Saturday at Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex. (HNMC photo)

Chris Powers scored the victory Saturday at Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex. (HNMC photo)

HOLLAND, N.Y. – Chris Powers was victorious in the 50 lap Hornets special Saturday night at Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex.

“Downtown” Jeffrey Brown won his second straight Getzoni Agency NASCAR Pro Modified feature of the season. Past Bank of Holland Charger titlist Zach Myers won his first feature of 2014. Jonathan Reid from won the feature event for the NYPA TQ Midgets. Jason Adams won another M&M U Pull It Figure 8 Car main event while Matt Kuppel won his first career feature event for the Future 4’s.

Josh Hathaway and Donald Palmer led the Hornets to the green flag for the Hornet main event and third place starter Timmy Catalano jumped quickly into the race lead. Catalano would continue to lead the field around the track for much of the distance until a lap 12 caution for Joe Mastrocicco who came to a stop on the top side of turn three. The restart would see Chris Powers take over command and then Powers and Catalano would dice their way through lap traffic for much of the main event. Powers was able to show the way for the remaining 38 laps to pick up the feature win.

Jonathan Reid only needed nine laps before jumping to the head of the class in the 20 lap feature distance for the NYPA TQ Midgets. Jim Fleischman showed the way early from his outside pole starting position. Erik Musto moved into the lead on lap three and then lost the lead four laps later to Andy Nye. Reid was able get around Nye on lap nine and pulled away from the field to pick up the victory.

Jason Adams took the lead away from the lead duo of Shane Toms and Joe Mastrocicco III on lap two of the M&M U Pull-It Figure 8 car feature event and never looked back as he went on to score another win. Don Maskell rolled his racer during the main event and was able to climb out of his racer under his own power.

Matt Kuppel led from the drop of the green to score his first career win for the Future 4’s. Alex Deshaies and Kathie Ricketson battled for second along with Mandie Orr for the entire distance.

The finish:

Chris Powers; Timmy Catalano; Kenny Hejna; Louis Carbone; Bob Bogner; Jeff Szafraniec; Carl Abrams;  Josh Hill; Donnie Knapp; Ben Russo; Grant Hill; Timmy Swatsworth; Michele Maltby; Bob Palmer; Butcher Palmer; John Blinston; Josh Hathaway; Brandon Tessmer; Joe Mastrocicco III

Posted by on Jul 13 2014 Filed under NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!