O’Donnell & Morris Split Thunder Road Double

Derrick O’Donnell scored his first win of the season in the late model division at Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl Thursday night. (Alan Ward Photo)

Derrick O’Donnell scored his first win of the season in the late model division at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl Thursday night. (Alan Ward Photo)

BARRE, Vt. – Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl’s racing action got under way on Thursday night with the remainder of the previously postponed final 47 laps of last week’s 26 car Cody Chevrolet Late Model feature.

Derrick O’Donnell picked up the win and unofficially took over the point lead in his quest to repeat as Thunder Road’s “King of the Road.” The final event of the night saw Jim “Boomer” Morris score his first career win in the late models in their regular 50-lap event after apparent winner Jason Allen was disqualified in post race technical inspection due to failing ACT’s board test, which checks for coil binding in the suspension.

In the first feature of the night, O’Donnell got around Lance Allen and cruised to the win. Lance Allen was followed across the line by Joey Laquerre, Shawn Fleury and John Donahue in the top five. Morris, Josh Demers, Brooks Clark, Nick Sweet and Brett Gervais rounded out the top ten.

Morris inherited the win in the second Late Model feature of the night, while O’Donnell claimed his second podium finish of the day in second ahead of Nick Sweet. Brooks Clark and Jason Corliss picked up top fives. Josh Demers, Shawn Fleury, Eric Badore, Scott Dragon, and Cody Blake were the remainder of the top ten.

The New England Antique Racers made their annual visit to Thunder Road with two feature events. Bill Kemp won the Cho Lee Memorial Modified event, while Scott Haskell won the Sportsmen feature.

Mike Billado earned his first Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen feature win of the season and the fourth of his career. He held off Dylan Payea of Milton and rookie Caleb Nelson. Eric Johnson and Scott Coburn earned top five finishes. Cameron Ouellette, Jeff Bousquet, point leader Jason Woodard, Doug Crowningshield and Darrell Morin completed the top 10.

Jamie Davis pocketed his third Allen Lumber Street Stock feature win of the season in a wild 25 lap event with multiple accidents, including a barrel roll by Justin Town. Town climbed from the car and was OK after his multiple rolls off of turn four. Davis held off Kyle Streeter and Will Hennequin for the win. Garry Bashaw and Bunker Hodgdon rounded out the top five while Jaden Perry, point leader Tommy Smith, Kevin Dodge, Alan Maynard and Tyler Austin completed the top ten.

Kevin LaForest scored his fourth Rough Rider win of the season in a wild pair of races that included a pylon event both forwards and reverse and a tag race. Paul Dudley and Adam Martin completed the top three.

Posted by on Aug 15 2014 Filed under NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!